































October 20, 2023

Dear Fare Integration Task Force members, Transit Agency Board Members, and MTC Commissioners,

Thank you very much for advancing the Clipper BayPass all-agency transit pass pilot, expanding from the initial participant base of public higher education and affordable communities to include up to 10 employers and transportation management associations with up to 20,000 participants.

We are very pleased to see the dramatic success of the first phase of the BayPass pilot showing a 35% increase in transit ridership among people whose access was expanded from a single agency to all agencies, improving mobility for people, helping the transit system regrow ridership, and advancing our region's goals on climate, equity and congestion relief.

Our organizations strongly believe that an all-agency institutional pass is one of the fastest and most meaningful options available to the region to regrow transit ridership and expand access to the transit system. While we are glad that this next phase of the pilot is advancing we urge MTC and transit operators to maintain their focus on this effort and to work expediently toward a full scale launch and region-wide formalization of the BayPass program as soon as possible. We understand that this will require formalizing a pricing and revenue distribution structure for the program as well as addressing long term implications for existing institutional pass programs.

We are confident that MTC and operators can come together to creatively overcome these implementation hurdles without further delay or compromise to the overall program. The need to rebuild ridership and strengthen public trust in the region's transit system is an imperative and mutual responsibility that all operators share. Transit is not on a sustainable course and the need for public investment in the system has never been greater- showing that we have the capacity to work together and change is essential.

Thank you for your consideration,

John Ristow
San Jose Department of
Transportation

lan Griffiths
Seamless Bay Area

Tiffany Rodriguez
San Jose State Associated
Students

Ewan Barker Plummer San Francisco Youth Commission

Laura Hill Bay Area Council Amy Buckmaster
Chamber San Mateo County

Amy Thomson **TransForm** 

Dave Sorrell

Association of Commuter

Transportation

Sonoma County Climate Activist Network Alyssa Sherman Salesforce

Laura Tolkoff SPUR

Adina Levin

Friends of Caltrain

Russell Hancock, Joint Venture Silicon Valley