# Association of Bay Area Governments Publicly Owned Energy Resources ABAG POWER

#### **Board of Directors**

April 18, 2024 Agenda Item 4.b.

Appointment of Aarón Zavala to the Executive Committee for Calendar Year 2024

### Subject:

Appointment of Aarón Zavala to the Executive Committee for Calendar Year 2024.

### **Background:**

The ABAG POWER Bylaws provide that the Executive Committee shall be comprised of the Chair and Vice Chair, who are elected by the Board of Directors (Board), and three to nine members entitled to cast a vote (Article 8.1). As of the February 15, 2024, Executive Committee meeting, four members were serving on the Executive Committee, as identified below.

Chair: Doug Williams, City of Santa Rosa Vice Chair: Becky Hopkins, City of Pleasanton

Committee members:

- Brendan Havenar-Doughton, County of Contra Costa
- Elaine Marshall, City of Milpitas

The Vice Chair, Becky Hopkins, retired on April 12, 2024. The City of Pleasanton has identified Aarón Zavala to succeed Ms. Hopkins as the City's delegate on the ABAG POWER Board of Directors.

The Bylaws provide that the Chair can appoint new Committee members who will serve on the Executive Committee with all rights and duties until the new member is either ratified or disapproved at the next meeting of the Board (Article 7.1.4). However, because the Chair and Vice Chair are elected by the Board, the Vice Chair position will remain vacant until an individual is elected at the next regular or special meeting of the Board.

Throughout 2023, staff notified the Board of active recruitment efforts with a goal of appointing two new Committee members. However, staff have not received interest from participating members. Staff will continue to solicit interest and update the Committee on potential appointments.

CCI	IOC	
133	11-3	

None.

## Agenda Item 4.b. – Appointment of Aarón Zavala to the Executive Committee for Calendar Year 2024

April 18, 2024 Page 2 of 2

### **Recommended Action:**

The ABAG POWER Executive Committee is requested to approve the appointment of Aarón Zavala to the Executive Committee for Calendar Year 2024.

### **Attachments:**

None.

### Reviewed:



Brad Paul