

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Transportation Revenue Measure Select Committee

Monday, September 23, 2024	9:30 AM	Yerba Buena - 1st Floor
----------------------------	---------	-------------------------

Roster

John Arantes, David Canepa, Cindy Chavez, Alicia John-Baptiste, Nick Josefowitz, Manny Leon, Adina Levin, James Lindsay, Matt Mahan, Nate Miley, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, David Rabbitt, Jim Spering (Chair), Ellen Wu, Jim Wunderman Ex-Officio Members: Alfredo Pedroza, Alicia Lawrence and Raayan Mohtashemi

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Members Lawrence, Mohtashemi, and Pedroza.

Members Chavez and Wu invoked AB 2449.

Members Lawrence, Rabbitt, Moulton-Peters, and John-Baptise arrived after the Roll Call.

A quorum of the Commission was established by the attendance of Commissioner Ronen, and ended with her 10:29am departure.

- Present: 12 Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Chavez, Committee Member Josefowitz, Committee Member Leon, Committee Member Levin, Committee Member Lindsay, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Miley, Committee Member Noack, Chair Spering, Committee Member Wu and Committee Member Wunderman
- Absent: 3 Committee Member Arantes, Committee Member John-Baptiste and Committee Member Moulton-Peters

2. Chair Comments

2a. <u>24-1141</u> Welcoming and Framing Remarks

Action: Information

Presenter: Chair Jim Spering

Attachments: 2a Chair Spering Memo.pdf

3. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Noack and seconded by Committee Member Rabbitt, the consent calendar was approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 13 Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Chavez, Committee Member Josefowitz, Committee Member Leon, Committee Member Levin, Committee Member Lindsay, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Miley, Committee Member Noack, Chair Spering, Committee Member Wu, Committee Member Wunderman and Rabbitt
- Absent: 3 Committee Member Arantes, Committee Member John-Baptiste and Committee Member Moulton-Peters
- **3a.**<u>24-1142</u>Approval of the Transportation Revenue Measure Select Committee
Minutes of the August 26, 2024 Meeting

Action: TRM Select Committee Approval

Attachments: 2024-08-26_TRM Select Committee_Meeting_Minutes_Draft.pdf

4. Discussion

4a. <u>24-1143</u> Transportation Revenue Measure Scenarios

Review of draft scenarios, including the updates made since the August 26 Select Committee meeting. Select Committee members will be asked to discuss and provide input, using the gradients of agreement approach, to further refine the scenarios.

- Action: Information
- Presenter: Stuart Cohen, SC Strategies
- <u>Attachments:</u> <u>4ai_Summary_Sheet_Scenarios_Select_Committee.pdf</u>

<u>4aii_Scenarios_Deck_Updated.pdf</u>

4aiii_Attachment_B_Gradients_of_Agreement.pdf

4a Handout Scenario Explainers.pdf

4a_Public_Comment_Full_Packet.pdf

Written public comments were received from: MTC Policy Advisory Council, Bill Hough, Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District, Northern CA District Council of Laborers, Operating Engineers Local 3, Norcal Carpenters Union, Nathan Spindel, and Iris Biblowitz.

The following individuals spoke on this item: Emily Wheeler, Abi Rahman-Davies, Sarah Greenwald, Laurel Paget-Seekins, Jeff Tumlin (SFMTA), Bob Powers (BART), Michelle Bouchard (Caltrain), Dennis Mulligan (Golden Gate Bridge), Bill Churchhill (County Connection), Bryan Culbertson, Aleta Dupree, Tina Martin, Shaya French, Matt Hettich, Peter Strauss, J.T. Harechmak, Anthony (Transbay Coalition), Wendy Kallins, William Walker, Howard Wong, George Spies, Pat Piras, Robert Allen, Dylan Finch, Chance Boreczky, Vinay Pimple, Marjorie Alford, Emil Abraham, Carter Lavin, Jean Tepperman, Carol Taylor

4b. <u>24-1144</u> Policy Provision Considerations – Taking the Temperature of Select Committee Members

Select Committee members will be asked for input on policy components that may be considered as part of the revenue measure, to be brought to the October meeting for more in-depth discussion.

Action: Information

Presenter: Chair Jim Spering

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>4bi_Summary_Sheet_Policy_Options.pdf</u>

<u>4bii Attachment A Policy Suggestions from Select Committee.pdf</u>
<u>4biii VPT Policy Proposals MTC Select Committee.pdf</u>
<u>4biiii Policy Considerations for Revenue Select Committee-</u> SPUR.pdf

4biiiii Handout Exec Group Policy Recos.pdf

Agenda item 4b was deferred to the October 21, 2024 Transportation Revenue Measure Select Committee agenda.

5. Public Comment / Other Business

Written public comments were received from: Alicia Baptiste (SPUR), and Ellen Wu (Voices for Public Transportation).

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Transportation Revenue Measure Select Committee will be held on October 21, 2024 at 9:30 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA.

Chair Spering adjourned the meeting of the Transportation Revenue Select Committee at 1:00pm.