

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Alfredo Pedroza, Chair Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair

Wednesday,	June	12,	2024
------------	------	-----	------

9:30 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor

Special Meeting

Roster

Alfredo Pedroza (Chair), Nick Josefowitz (Vice Chair), Margaret Abe-Koga, Eddie Ahn, David Canepa, Cindy Chavez, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Dina El-Tawansy*, Victoria Fleming, Dorene M. Giacopini*, Federal D. Glover, Matt Mahan, Nate Miley, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, Gina Papan, David Rabbitt, Hillary Ronen, Libby Schaaf*, James P. Spering, Sheng Thao *Non-Voting Members

Chair Pedroza called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m.

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 14 -	Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner	
	Canepa, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover,	
	Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters,	
	Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Ronen, and	
	Commissioner Spering	

Absent: 4 - Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Rabbitt, and Commissioner Thao

Non-Voting Commissioners Present: Commissioner El-Tawansy, Commissioner Giacopini, and Commissioner Schaaf

2. Pledge of Allegiance / Acknowledgement of the Flag

3. Compensation Announcement (Clerk)

4. Chair's Report

There was nothing to report.

5. Commission Information and Discussion

5a.	<u>24-0845</u>	Next Steps to Build Consensus for a 2026 Transportation Revenue
		Measure

This item will provide high level information on planned next steps to build consensus for a future transportation measure. Senator Scott Wiener will join the meeting remotely to discuss the decision to not advance Senate Bill 1031 this year and instead introduce legislation in the next session to address the Bay Area's transit funding challenges. Commissioners will have an opportunity to discuss and provide input to inform the path ahead.

Action: Information and Discussion

<u>Presenter:</u> Chair Pedroza and Senator Wiener, and Commissioners

Chair Pedroza announced the formation of a short-term Select Committee with Commissioner Jim Spering to act as Chair.

Written correspondence was received from Michael Hursh (AC Transit), Mayor Sheng Thao (City of Oakland), and Steve Merritt.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Michael Gliksohn (Voices for Public Transportation), Abi Rahman-Davies (Transforming Voices for Public Transportation), Laurel Paget-Seekins (Public Advocates), Emily Wheeler (Public Advocates), Sara Greenwald (350 Bay Area Action), Claudia Burgos (AC Transit), Monique Webster (SFMTA), Irvin Dawid, Aleta Dupree (Team Folds), Adina Levin (Seamless Bay Area), Warren Cushman (Community Resources for Independent Living), Marjorie Alvord (Voices for Public Transportation), Christine Fitzgerald (Silicon Valley Independent Living Center), Peter Strauss (SF Transit Riders), Anthony, Dylan Finch, Sam Sargent (Caltrain), Jordan Grimes (Greenbelt Alliance), Carol Taylor (Genesis), Hillary Brown (Policy Advisory Council), Lian Chang, Paul Bickmore, and Michael Baldini.

- 6. Public Comment / Other Business
- 7. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next meeting of the Commission is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, June 26, 2024 at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.