

# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

# **ABAG Administrative Committee**

		esse Arreguin, Mayor, City of B Belia Ramos, Supervisor, Cour	-
Friday, September 24, 202	1	9:00 AM	Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)
		Special Meeting	
	Asso	ciation of Bay Area Governn Administrative Committee	nents
The A	The meet Agenda, roster, a	tive Committee may act on a ing is scheduled to begin at and webcast available at http contact Clerk of the Board a	9:00 a.m. ps://abag.ca.gov
•	•	Roster vsa Fligor, Dave Hudson, Otto vid Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Ca	o Lee, Rafael Mandelman, Karen arlos Romero, Lori Wilson
1. Call to Order / Ro	oll Call / Confirm	n Quorum	
Present:	present.	-	at about 9:03 a.m. Quorum was elman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero
Absent:	3 - Peralez, Rat	bbitt, and Wilson L	
0 Dublie Comment			

## 2. Public Comment

### 3. Committee Member Announcements

### 4. Chair's Report

**4.a.** <u>21-1225</u> ABAG Administrative Committee Chair's Report for September 24, 2021

Chair Arreguin gave the report.

## 5. Executive Director's Report

5.a. <u>21-1226</u> Executive Director's Report for September 24, 2021

### 6. Regional Housing Needs Allocation Appeals Public Hearing

6. 21-1227 The Administrative Committee will hear appeals from jurisdictions and responses to issues raised by ABAG/MTC staff. Jurisdictions scheduled for this meeting are listed below; the hearing is scheduled to be continued at the special meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee on September 29, 2021 at 9:00 AM with additional jurisdictions out of the 28 total appeals.

The following submitted public comment: Mat Fogarty, Jay Garfinkle.

#### Alameda County

6.a. <u>21-1228</u> Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Alameda

Andrew Thomas, Planning Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Alameda.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Carmen, John Knox, Paul Foreman, Trish Herrera Spencer, Zac Bowling, Rick Harmer, Rosalinda.

The following submitted public comment: Alameda Citizens Task Force, Karen Miller, Margie.

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Ramos, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Alameda. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 8 Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero
- Absent: 4 Mandelman, Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L
- 6.b. <u>21-1229</u> Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Dublin

Michael Cass, Principal Planner, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Dublin.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Joshua Hawn.

Post public comment period comments were posted on MTC Legistar.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Ramos, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Dublin. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote: Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

**6.c.** <u>21-1230</u> Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Pleasanton

Ellen Clark, Community Development Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Pleasanton.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Jordan Grimes.

Post public comment period comments were posted on MTC Legistar.

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Fligor, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Pleasanton. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

#### Lunch Break

#### **Contra Costa County**

6.d. <u>21-1231</u> Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Clayton

Reina Schwartz, City Manager, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Clayton.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Joshua Hawn.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Arreguin, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Clayton. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

**6.e.** <u>21-1232</u> Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the Town of Danville

Renee Morgan, Mayor, and Tai Williams, Assistant Town Manager, presented the RHNA appeal for the Town of Danville.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

Post public comment period comments were posted on MTC Legistar.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Romero, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the Town of Danville. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

6.f. <u>21-1233</u> Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Lafayette

Greg Wolff, Planning and Building Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Lafayette.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Gina Dawson, Susan Candall, Scott O'Neil, Sam Monk, Jay Garfinkle, Zac Bowling, Jordan Grimes.

Upon the motion by Arreguin and second by Ramos, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Lafayette. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 9 Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero
- Absent: 3 Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L
- 6.g. <u>21-1234</u> Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Pleasant Hill

Ethan Bindernagel, Community Development Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Pleasant Hill.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Kristi Corley.

Upon the motion by Fligor and second by Romero, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Pleasant Hill. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote: Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

## 7. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 2:10 p.m. The ABAG Administrative Committee will continue the public hearing on RHNA Appeals on September 29, 2021.