

# Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

# **Meeting Minutes**

# **Programming and Allocations Committee**

Committee Members:

David Rabbitt, Chair Gina Papan, Vice Chair

Margaret Abe-Koga, Cindy Chavez, Federal D. Glover, Nate

Miley, Hillary Ronen, Amy R. Worth

Non-Voting Member: Dina El-Tawansy

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

9:45 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

# **Call Remote Meeting to Order**

## 1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Vice Chair

Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Miley

Non-Voting Member Absent: Commissioner El-Tawansy

Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Pedroza and Commission Vice Chair

Josefowitz

Ad Hoc Non-Voting Members Present: Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Giacopini, and Commissioner Spering

## 2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Glover and the second by Commissioner Abe-Koga, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Vice Chair

Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Miley

**2a.** <u>21-1007</u> Minutes of the July 14, 2021 meeting

Action: Committee Approval

**2b.** <u>21-1028</u> FY 2020-21 Federal Earmark Repurposing. Federal Highway

Administration (FHWA) repurposed earmark funds under the earmark repurposing provision of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021.

**Action:** Information

Presenter: Mallory Atkinson

Page 1 Printed on 10/13/2021

**2c.** 21-1030

MTC Resolution No. 4412, Revised. Regional Measure 3 (RM3) Letter of No Prejudice to the Alameda County Transportation Commission for the I-680 Southbound Express Lane project in Alameda County.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Kenneth Kao

# 3. Regional

3a. 21-1047

MTC Resolution Nos. 4464 Revised; 4465, Revised; 4466, Revised; and 4467. Revised

Allocation of \$175 million in FY2021-22 Transportation Development Act (TDA), State Transit Assistance (STA), Regional Measure 2 (RM2) and Assembly Bill 1107 (AB1107) funds to SFMTA and GGBHTD to support transit operations in the region.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Cheryl Chi

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and the second by Vice Chair Papan, the Committee unanimously approved the referral of MTC Resolution Nos. 4464 Revised; 4465, Revised; 4466, Revised; and 4467, Revised to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

 Aye: 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Vice Chair Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Miley

## 4. State

**4a**. 21-1033

MTC Resolution No. 4488. Policies and Procedures for the 2022 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (RTIP).

Adoption of the Policies and Procedures for the 2022 RTIP, which includes approximately \$103 million in new programming capacity for the Bay Area.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Karl Anderson

Upon the motion by Commissioner Glover and the second by Commissioner Ronen, the Committee unanimously approved the referral of MTC Resolution No. 4488 to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Aye:** 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Vice Chair Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Miley

## 5. Federal

**5a.** <u>21-1029</u> MTC Resolution No. 4202, Revised. Revisions to the One Bay Area Grant

(OBAG 2) program.

Revisions to the One Bay Area Grant program (OBAG 2), including programming \$4.2 million to various projects within the Safe and Seamless

Mobility Quick-Strike program.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Mallory Atkinson

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and the second by Vice Chair Papan, the Committee unanimously approved the referral of MTC Resolution No. 4202, Revised to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following

vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Vice Chair

Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Miley

**5b.** <u>21-1034</u> MTC Resolution 4481, Revised. Supplemental Programming of Phase 1

American Rescue Plan Act Funding

Programming of Phase 1 American Rescue Plan Act (ARP) funding for specific hardships and focused recovery strategies, and to transit

operators in Solano and Sonoma Counties.

Action: Commission Approval

**Presenter:** Theresa Romell

Upon the motion by Vice Chair Papan and the second by Commissioner Chavez, the Committee unanimously approved the referral of MTC Resolution No. 4481, Revised to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following

vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Vice Chair

Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Page 3

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Miley

## 6. Information

**6a.** <u>21-1022</u> Update on FTA-Funded Megaprojects in the Bay Area

Update on the status and funding of FTA-Funded Megaprojects in the Bay Area and discussion of possible policy to coordinate and strategize on megaproject delivery.

Action: Information

Presenter: Kenneth Folan

Written correspondence was received in a joint letter from Laura Tolkoff of SPUR and Ian Griffiths of Seamless Bay Area.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Roland Lebrun,

Ian Griffiths of Seamless Bay Area, and Richard Hedges.

**6b.** 21-1008 California Transportation Commission (CTC) Update

An update on the August 18-19, 2021 CTC Meeting and other state funding

activities.

<u>Action:</u> Information

<u>Presenter:</u> Kenneth Kao

## 7. Public Comment / Other Business

# 8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Programming and Allocations Committee is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, October 13, 2021 at 9:45 a.m. remotely and by webcast. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.