

## **Meeting Minutes - Final**

# **ABAG Regional Planning Committee**

Cha	air, Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra ( Vice Chair, Carlos Romero, Urban Ecology	Costa
Thursday, January 14, 2021	10:00 AM	Yerba Buena - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

Association of Bay Area Governments Regional Planning Committee

The ABAG Regional Planning Committee may act on any item on the agenda. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m. Agenda, roster and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

#### Roster

Susan Adams, Jesse Arreguin, Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, Rick Bonilla, Mark Boucher, Monica Brown, Paul Campos, David Canepa, Kathleen Cha, Cindy Chavez, Amber Crabbe, Diane Dillon, Pat Eklund, Neysa Fligor, Russell Hancock, Melissa Jones, Rafael Mandelman, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Matt Regan, Katie Rice, Carlos Romero, Mark Ross, Al Savay, Gregory Scharff, Scott Sedgley, James Spering, Sonja Trauss, Lori Wilson

## 1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Mitchoff called the meeting to order at about 10:01 a.m. Quorum was present.

- Present: 23 Adams, Arreguin, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Campos, Canepa, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Hancock, Jones, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Munoz, Regan, Romero, Ross, Sedgley, Spering, and Trauss
- Absent: 9 Ashcraft, Dillon, Miley, Rabbitt, Ramos, Rice, Savay, Scharff, and Wilson L

## 2. Public Comment

## 3. Election of Regional Planning Committee Chair and Vice Chair

3.a. <u>21-0134</u> Election of Regional Planning Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Upon the motion by Romero and second by Bonilla, the ABAG Regional Planning Committee elected Mitchoff as Chair and Romero as Vice Chair and recommended ABAG Executive Board confirmation of the election. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 21 - Adams, Arreguin, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Campos, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Hancock, Jones, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Munoz, Regan, Romero, Ross, Sedgley, Spering, and Trauss

Absent:	11 -	Ashcraft,	Canepa,	Dillon,	Fligor,	Miley,	Rabbitt,	Ramos,	Rice,	Savay,	Scharff,	and
		Wilson L										

## 4. Chair's Report

4.a.	<u>21-0045</u>	ABAG Regional Planning Committee Chair's Report for January 14, 2021
		Chair Mitchoff gave the report.
4.b.	<u>21-0133</u>	Report on ABAG Regional Planning Committee Meeting Schedule for 2021
		Chair Mitchoff gave the report.

### 5. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Brown, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 21 Adams, Arreguin, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Campos, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Hancock, Jones, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Munoz, Regan, Romero, Sedgley, Spering, and Trauss
- Absent: 11 Ashcraft, Canepa, Dillon, Miley, Rabbitt, Ramos, Rice, Ross, Savay, Scharff, and Wilson L
- **5.a.** <u>21-0046</u> Approval of ABAG Regional Planning Committee Summary Minutes of November 12, 2020

## 6. Plan Bay Area 2050

6.a. <u>21-0047</u> Plan Bay Area 2050 Final Blueprint

Presentation on the Plan Bay Area 2050 Final Blueprint Outcomes, including performance and equity outcomes, prior to ABAG Executive Board action on the Preferred EIR Alternative later this month.

Dave Vautin gave the report.

## 7. Regional Housing Needs Allocation

## 7.a. <u>21-0048</u> Draft RHNA Methodology and Final Subregional Shares

Presentation on the Draft RHNA Methodology and Final Subregional Shares, including comments received during the public comment period in October and November.

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Aaron Eckhouse, Shajuti Hossain, Justine Marcus, Will Nelson, Kelsey Banes, Ken Chan.

The following submitted public comment: Habitat for Humanity, City of Piedmont, Public Advocates.

The following submitted late public comment: Contra Costa Conservation, Public Advocates.

Upon the motion by Bonilla and second by Romero, the ABAG Regional Planning Committee recommended ABAG Executive Board approval of the Draft Regional Housing Needs Allocation Methodology with the equity adjustment and directed staff to provide additional information including impacts, and approval of Final Subregional Shares. The motion passed by the following vote:

- Aye: 14 Adams, Arreguin, Bonilla, Boucher, Campos, Cha, Chavez, Fligor, Hancock, Jones, Munoz, Regan, Romero, and Trauss
- Nay: 6 Brown, Eklund, Mitchoff, Ross, Sedgley, and Spering
- Absent: 11 Ashcraft, Canepa, Dillon, Mandelman, Miley, Rabbitt, Ramos, Rice, Savay, Scharff, and Wilson L
- Abstain: 1 Crabbe

## 8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Mitchoff adjourned the meeting at about 12:20 p.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Regional Planning Committee is on February 11, 2021.