

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Meeting Minutes - Final

101 Eighth Street, Joseph P. Bort MetroCenter Oakland, CA

Legislation Committee

Committee Members:

Alicia C. Aguirre, Chair Sam Liccardo, Vice Chair

Scott Haggerty, Anne W. Halsted, Steve Kinsey, Julie Pierce, James P. Spering Non-Voting Members: Tom Azumbrado, Dorene M. Giacopini

Friday, November 13, 2015

9:40 AM

Lawrence D. Dahms Auditorium

This meeting is scheduled to be audiocast live on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission's Website: www.mtc.ca.gov

Present: 7 - Chairperson Aguirre, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted,

Commissioner Kinsey, Vice Chair Liccardo, Commissioner Pierce, and

Commissioner Spering

Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Giacopini Non-Voting Member Absent: Commissioner Azumbrado

Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Cortese and Commission Vice Chair

Mackenzie

Ad Hoc Non-Voting Members Present: Commissioner Bates, Commissioner Campos, Commissioner

Rein Worth and Commissioner Wiener

2. Consent Calendar

Approval of the Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Vice Chair Liccardo and second by Commissioner Halsted, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Chairperson Aguirre, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Kinsey, Vice Chair Liccardo, Commissioner Pierce and Commissioner Spering

2a. <u>15-1000</u> Minutes of October 9, 2015 meeting.

Action: Committee Approval

Page 1 Printed on 12/11/2015

3. Information

3a. <u>15-1027</u> 2015 Legislative Scorecard

Summary of outcomes on MTC priority bills and MTC 2015 Advocacy

Program

Action: Information

Presenter: Rebecca Long

3b. <u>15-1002</u> Draft 2016 Advocacy Program

Initial ideas for state and federal legislative priorities for 2016

Action: Information

Presenter: Randy Rentschler

4. State Legislation

4a. 15-0925 AB x1-24 (Levine) Reconfiguration of MTC's Board

This bill would replace MTC's current 21-member board with a directly-elected board of an undetermined number of members and change MTC's name to the Bay Area Transportation Commission.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Randy Rentschler

Upon the motion by Commissioner Kinsey and second by Commissioner Haggerty, an oppose psoition on AB x1-24 (Levine) was adopted to be forwarded to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Chairperson Aguirre, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Kinsey, Vice Chair Liccardo, Commissioner Pierce and Commissioner Spering

5. Federal Legislation

5a. <u>15-1016</u> Overview of H.R. 3763 (Shuster): Surface Transportation Reauthorization

and Reform Act

A summary and analysis of the House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee's six-year bill, including how it would affect funding for the San Francisco Bay Area.

Action: Information

Presenter: Randy Rentschler

5b. <u>15-1003</u> Tom Bulger's Report

Report from MTC's advocate in Washington D.C.

Action: Information

Presenter: Randy Rentschler

6. Public Comment / Other Business

Rich Hedges was called to speak

7. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Legislation Committee will be December 11, 2015, 9:40 a.m. in the Lawrence D. Dahms Auditorium, First Floor, 101 Eighth Street, Oakland, CA.