

Meeting Minutes - Draft

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Administrative Committee

Chair, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley Vice Chair, Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa

Friday, October 22, 2021

9:00 AM

REMOTE (In person option available)

Special Meeting

Association of Bay Area Governments Administrative Committee

The ABAG Administrative Committee may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:00 a.m.

Agenda, roster, and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Jesse Arreguin, Pat Eklund, Neysa Fligor, Dave Hudson, Otto Lee, Rafael Mandelman, Karen Mitchoff, Raul Peralez, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Carlos Romero, Lori Wilson

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 9:01 a.m. Quorum was present.

present

Present: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

2. Public Comment

3. Committee Member Announcements

4. Chair's Report

4.a. 21-1277 ABAG Administrative Committee Chair's Report for October 22, 2021

Chair Arreguin gave the report.

5. Executive Director's Report

5.a. 21-1278 Executive Director's Report for October 22, 2021

6. Regional Housing Needs Allocation Appeals Public Hearing

21-1279

The Administrative Committee will hear appeals from jurisdictions and responses to issues raised by ABAG/MTC staff. Jurisdictions scheduled for this meeting are listed below; the hearing is scheduled to be continued at the special meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee on October 29, 2021 at 9:00 AM with additional jurisdictions out of the 28 total appeals.

Marin County

6.a. <u>21-1280</u>

Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the Unincorporated Marin County

Leelee Thomas, Community Development Deputy Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the County of Marin.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Jordan Grimes.

Post public comment period comments were posted on MTC Legistar.

Upon the motion by Romero and second by Hudson, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the County of Marin. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 4 - Mandelman, Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

Santa Clara County

6.b. <u>21-1281</u>

Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Los Altos

Neysa Fligor recused herself.

Jon Biggs, Community Development Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Los Altos.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Frank Meth, Roberta Philips, Jan Baer, Jordan Grimes, Salim, Kristi Corley.

Upon the motion by Romero and second by Eklund, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Los Altos. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Arreguin, Eklund, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 4 - Fligor, Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

6.c. 21-1282 Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the Town of Los Altos Hills

Steve Padovan, Interim Planning Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the Town of Los Altos Hills.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Jon Baer, Kristi Corley, Duffy Price, Aaron Eckhouse, Kelsey Banes, Jordan Grimes, Salim.

Upon the motion by Arreguin and second by Ramos, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the Town of Los Altos Hills. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

6.d. 21-1283 Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Monte Sereno

Richard James, Principal, EMC Group, and Shawn Leuthold, Mayor, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Monte Sereno.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Daniel Rhoads, Rowena Turner, Liz Lawler, Aaron Eckhouse.

Upon the motion by Arreguin and second by Eklund, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Monte Sereno. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

6.e. <u>21-1284</u>

Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Palo Alto

Jonathan Lait, Planning and Development Services Director, and Eric Filseth, Councilmember, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Palo Alto.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Aaron Eckhouse, Rohnin Ghosh, Richard Mehlinger, Ryan Globus, Kelsey Banes, Arthur Keller, Jordan Grimes.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Ramos, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Palo Alto. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

6.f. 21-1285

Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the City of Saratoga

Debbie Pedro, Community Development Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the City of Saratoga.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Anjeli Kauser, Mike Durham, Tina Waliaum, Aaron Eckhouse, Yan Zhao, Daniel Rhoads, Jordan Grimes.

Post public comment period comments were posted on MTC Legistar.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Romero, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the City of Saratoga. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Lee, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 3 - Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

6.g. <u>21-1286</u>

Report on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Appeal for the Unincorporated Santa Clara County

Otto Lee recused himself.

Jacqueline Onciano, Planning and Development Director, presented the RHNA appeal for the County of Santa Clara.

ABAG/MTC staff gave the staff response.

The following gave public comment: Mark Landgraf, Brian Schmidt, Kristi Corley.

Post public comment period comments were posted on MTC Legistar.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Arreguin, the ABAG Administrative Committee approved a preliminary action to deny the RHNA appeal from the County of Santa Clara. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Hudson, Mandelman, Mitchoff, Ramos, and Romero

Absent: 4 - Lee, Peralez, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

7. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 1:48 p.m. The ABAG Administrative Committee will continue the public hearing on RHNA Appeals on October 29, 2021.

Page 5