

Meeting Minutes - Draft

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Regional Planning Committee

Chair, Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Vice Chair, Carlos Romero, Urban Ecology

Thursday, May 13, 2021

10:00 AM

Yerba Buena - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

Association of Bay Area Governments Regional Planning Committee

The ABAG Regional Planning Committee may act on any item on the agenda. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m. Agenda, roster and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Susan Adams, Jesse Arreguin, Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, Rick Bonilla, Mark Boucher, Monica Brown, Amanda Brown-Stevens, Paul Campos, David Canepa, Kathleen Cha, Amber Crabbe, Diane Dillon, Pat Eklund, Neysa Fligor, Russell Hancock, Melissa Jones, Otto Lee, Robert McConnell, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Samuel Munoz, Rodney Nickens, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Matt Regan, Carlos Romero, Mark Ross, Al Savay, Gregory Scharff, Scott Sedgley, James Spering, Sonja Trauss

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Mitchoff called the meeting to order at about 10:04 a.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 30 - Adams, Arrequin, Ashcraft, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Cha, Dillon, Eklund, Fligor, Hancock, Jones, Lee, McConnell, Miley, Mitchoff, Moulton-Peters, Munoz, Nickens, Ramos, Regan, Romero, Ross, Savay, Scharff, Sedgley, Spering, and Trauss

Absent: 3 - Canepa, Crabbe, and Rabbitt

- 2. Public Comment
- 3. Committee Member Announcements
- 4. Chair's Report
- ABAG Regional Planning Committee Chair's Report for May 13, 2021 4.a. 21-0593

5. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Bonilla, the ABAG Regional Planning Committee approved the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 23 - Adams, Arreguin, Ashcraft, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Cha, Eklund, Hancock, Jones, McConnell, Mitchoff, Moulton-Peters, Munoz, Regan, Romero, Savay, Scharff, Sedgley, Spering, and Trauss

Absent: 8 - Canepa, Crabbe, Fligor, Miley, Nickens, Rabbitt, Ramos, and Ross

Abstain: 2 - Dillon, and Lee

5.a. 21-0594 Approval of ABAG Regional Planning Committee Minutes of March 11, 2021

6. Final Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Methodology and Draft RHNA Allocations

6.a. 21-0595 Final Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Methodology and Draft RHNA Allocations

Presentation on the Final RHNA Methodology, including feedback received from the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD).

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Christina Ratcliffe; Leslie Gordon; Justine Marcus; Jeff Levin; Kristi.

Upon the motion by Bonilla and second by Spering, the ABAG Regional Planning Committee recommended that the Executive Board approve the Final RHNA Methodology and Draft RHNA Allocations. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 21 - Arreguin, Ashcraft, Bonilla, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Cha, Fligor, Hancock, Jones, Lee, McConnell, Mitchoff, Munoz, Nickens, Regan, Romero, Ross, Savay, Spering, and Trauss

Nay: 6 - Adams, Dillon, Eklund, Moulton-Peters, Scharff, and Sedgley

Absent: 4 - Canepa, Crabbe, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Abstain: 2 - Boucher, and Miley

7. Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA): Appeals Framework

7.a. 21-0596 Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA): Appeals Framework

Proposed framework for the Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) appeals phase, with the ABAG Administrative Committee playing a lead role in hearing appeals.

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Jeff Levin.

8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Mitchoff adjourned the meeting at about 11:24 a.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Regional Planning Committee is on June 10, 2021.