Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105





Meeting Minutes - Draft

Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

Jesse Arreguin, Chair Sam Liccardo, Vice Chair

Members

Eddie Ahn, David Canepa, Damon Connolly, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Pat Eklund, Victoria Fleming, Barbara Halliday, Dave Hudson, Gordon Mar, Karen Mitchoff, Alfredo Pedroza, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Libby Schaaf, and Jim Spering

| | Non-Voting Members Dorene M. Giacopini and Vacant | |
|----------------------|--|---------------------------------|
| Friday, May 14, 2021 | 9:45 AM | Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE) |

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

- Present:
 15 Vice Chair Liccardo, Committee Member Hudson, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member Fleming
- Absent: 2 Committee Member Mar and Committee Member Rabbitt

Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Giacopini Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Vice Chair Josefowitz Ad Hoc Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Worth

2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Hudson and second by Vice Chair Liccardo, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 15 Vice Chair Liccardo, Committee Member Hudson, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member Fleming
- Absent: 2 Committee Member Mar and Committee Member Rabbitt
- 2a.21-0628Approval of Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of the April9, 2021 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

Attachments: 2a Joint LEGIS Minutes Apr 9 2021.pdf

2b. <u>21-0629</u> Legislative History

Detailed list of bills the ABAG and MTC are tracking in Sacramento, including those ABAG or MTC supports or opposes.

- Action: Information
- Presenter: Rebecca Long

Attachments: 2b_Handout_May Leg History.pdf

2c. <u>21-0649</u> Upcoming Recruitment for Policy Advisory Council

Action: Information

Presenter: Kỳ-Nam Miller

Attachments: 2c Council Recruitment Update.pdf

3. State Legislation

3a.21-0686May Revise of the Fiscal Year (FY) 2021-2022 State Budget & Legislative
Spending Proposals

Overview of key changes proposed by Governor Newsom to the FY 2021-2022 State Budget as well as new legislative spending proposals.

Action: Information

Presenter: Rebecca Long

Attachments: <u>3a_State Budget Update.pdf</u>

Roland Lebrun spoke on this item. Rich Hedges spoke on this item.

3b. <u>21-0687</u> Assembly Bill 897 (Mullin): Regional Climate Networks

Authorizes the establishment of regional climate networks and adoption of regional climate adaptation action plans. Requires the Office of Planning and Research (OPR) to adopt guidelines as to how eligible entities may form such a network, its geographic boundaries, the content of plans, and governance.

- Action: Support and Seek Amendments / ABAG Executive Board Approval Support and Seek Amendments / MTC Commission Approval
- Presenter: Rebecca Long
- Attachments: 3b AB 897 Mullin.pdf

Upon the motion by Chair Arreguin and second by Committee Member Spering, a support and seek amendments position on AB 897 (Mullin) was adopted to be forwarded to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 13 Vice Chair Liccardo, Committee Member Hudson, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member Fleming
- Nay: 1 Committee Member Eklund
- Absent: 3 Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mar and Committee Member Rabbitt

3c. <u>21-0688</u> Assembly Bill 1500 (Garcia): Safe Drinking Water, Wildfire Prevention, Drought Preparation, Flood Protection, Extreme Heat Mitigation, and Workforce Development Bond Act of 2022

Authorizes the issuance of a \$7 billion climate adaptation general obligation bond.

<u>Action:</u> Support and Seek Amendments / ABAG Executive Board Approval Support and Seek Amendments / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Rebecca Long

Attachments: <u>3c AB 1500.pdf</u>

Upon the motion by Vice Chair Liccardo and seconded by Committee Member Eklund, a support and seek amendments position on AB 1500 (Garcia) was adopted to be forwarded to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 13 Vice Chair Liccardo, Committee Member Hudson, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Fleming
- Absent: 4 Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mar, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member Rabbitt

3d.21-0689Assembly Bill 1401 (Friedman): Residential and Commercial Parking
Requirements Near Transit

Prohibits minimum parking requirements from applying to commercial or residential buildings located within one-half mile of a major transit stop or high quality transit corridor.

- <u>Action:</u> Support / ABAG Executive Board Support / MTC Commission Approval
- Presenter: Rebecca Long and James Choe

Attachments: 3d AB 1401 Friedman.pdf

<u>3d_Corr Rec_1_Cory David.pdf</u> 3d Presentation Parking Policy.pdf

The following individuals spoke on this item: Zack Subin of Urban Environmentalist; Roland Lebrun; Aleta Dupree; Aaron Eckhouse of California YIMBY; Raayan Mohtashemi; Robert Fruchtman; Kelsey Banes of YIMBY Action; Jordan Grimes of the Peninsula Young Democrats; Lisa Danz; Adam Buchbinder of South Bay YIMBY; and Rich Hedges.

Upon the motion by Vice Chair Liccardo and second by Chair Arreguin, a support and seek amendments position on AB 1401 (Friedman) was adopted to be forwarded to the Commission for approval with an additional amendment to the bill to ensure that preexisting agreements that waived or reduced parking requirements in exchange for additional affordable housing commitments or other community benefits be protected. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 10 Vice Chair Liccardo, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member Fleming
- Nay: 2 Committee Member Eklund and Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci
- Absent: 5 Committee Member Hudson, Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Mar and Committee Member Rabbitt

4. Federal Legislation

4a. <u>21-0631</u> Washington D.C. Legislative Update

Report on key legislative, funding and political developments over the past month from Washington, D.C. prepared by the Summit Strategies team.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>4a_MTC April Washington Report.pdf</u>

5. Public Comment / Other Business

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee will be Friday, June 11, 2021 at 9:45 a.m. remotely and by webcast as appropriate depending on the status of any shelter in place orders. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.