

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes

Programming and Allocations Committee

Committee Members:		
	David Rabbitt, Chair Gina Pap	an, Vice Chair
Margaret Abe-Koga, Cindy Chavez, Federal D. Glover, Nate		
Miley, Hillary Ronen, Amy R. Worth		
Non-Voting Member: Dina El-Tawansy		
Wednesday, May 12, 2021	10:00 AM	Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

Call Remote Meeting to Order

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 8 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Miley, Vice Chair Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, and Commissioner Worth

Non-Voting Member Absent: Commissioner El-Tawansy Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Pedroza and Commission Vice Chair Josefowitz

Ad Hoc Non-Voting Members Present: Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Giacopini, and Commissioner Spering

2. Consent Calendar

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

Commissioner Glover was absent for the Consent Calendar.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and the second by Vice Chair Papan, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Miley, Vice Chair Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Glover

2a. <u>21-0560</u> Minutes of the April 14, 2021 meeting

Action: Committee Approval

 2b.
 21-0577
 MTC Resolution No. 3664, Revised. Regional Measure 2 (RM2) Project 32: Allocation of \$230,000 in RM2 funds to the Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority (LAVTA) for the Rapid Bus Stop Improvement Project.

 Action:
 Commission Approval

Presenter: Anne Spevack

2c.21-0562MTC Resolution Nos. 3989, Revised and 4468. Agreement for the
Exchange of MTC Regional Discretionary Funds with Transportation
Authority of Marin Unrestricted funds for the US 101 High Occupancy
Vehicle (HOV) Lane project.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Ross McKeown

2d.21-0584MTC Resolution No. 4462. Adoption of the FY2021-22 Regional State
Transit Assistance (STA) Program to program \$8.6 million to MTC projects
that support regional coordination including Clipper and the Regional
Transit Card programs.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Cheryl Chi

2e.21-0561MTC Resolution No. 4475, Revised. 2021 Transportation Improvement
Program (TIP) Amendment 2021-05.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Adam Crenshaw

2f.21-0576Regional Measure 2 (RM2) and Regional Measure 3 (RM3) Capital
Programs: Semi-Annual Update.

Action: Information

Presenter: Anne Spevack

Meeting Minutes

3. Regional

3a.<u>21-0585</u>MTC Resolution No. 4463. Adoption of the \$45.4 million FY2021-22Regional Measure 2 (RM2) Operating and Marketing Assistance Program.

Staff will present a \$45.4 million program recommendation for the FY 2021-22 Regional Measure 2 (RM2) Operating and Marketing Program.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Cheryl Chi

Commissioner Glover returned after the Consent Calendar vote.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and the second by Vice Chair Papan, the Committee unanimously approved the referral of MTC Resolution No. 4463 to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Miley, Vice Chair Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

4. Federal

4a. <u>21-0580</u> MTC Resolution 4202, Revised. A proposed framework for the distribution of highway infrastructure funding provided through the federal Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (CRRSAA), including a \$34.4 million augmentation to the Safe and Seamless Mobility Quick-Strike program.

The federal Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (CRRSAA) includes \$10 billion in supplemental COVID-relief funding for highway infrastructure programs. Of the \$912 million available statewide, the California Transportation Commission (CTC) recently approved distributing 40% of the funds to local and regional programs. The CTC will program the remaining 60% of the available funds to various state programs.

- Action: Commission Approval
- <u>Presenter:</u> Theresa Romell

Written public comments were received from SPUR; and Silicon Valley Leadership Group, SPUR, and Bay Area Council.

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

Commissioner Chavez left during agenda item 4a.

Upon the motion by Vice Chair Papan and the second by Commissioner Glover, the Committee unanimously approved the referral of MTC Resolution No. 4202, Revised. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 7 Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Miley, Vice Chair Papan, Chair Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 1 Commissioner Chavez

4b.21-0563Proposed Principles and Approach to the Distribution of Transit Funding
from the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021

Update on MTC's Approach to the Distribution of Transit Funding from the American Rescue Plan Act and Proposed Principles to Guide the Distribution of Funds.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Therese McMillan and William Bacon

Written public comments were received from Santa Rosa City Bus, Sonoma County Transit, and SMART; SFMTA and General Manager; and Silicon Valley Leadership Group, SPUR, and Bay Area Council.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Katy (Peoples Transit Alliance), Nathan (Peoples Transit Alliance), Seamus Murphy (San Mateo County Transit District), John Courtney (ATU Local 265), Richard Marcantonio, Adina Levin, Roland Lebrun, Hayley Currier (Transform), Bob Allen (Urban Habitat), Jonathan Kass (SPUR), Derek Sagehorn (East Bay Transit Riders Union), John Minot (East Bay Transit Riders Union), Andrea Lowe (Peoples Transit Alliance), Joty Dhaliwal (Peoples Transit Alliance), Chris Rogers (Mayor, City of Santa Rosa), Aleta Dupree, Shane Weinstein (ATU Local 1575), Marina Secchitano (Inlandboatmans Union), Chris Arvin, and Zack Deutsch-Gross (SF Transit Riders).

Commissioner Abe-Koga and Commissioner Ronen left during agenda item 4b.

Chair Pedroza was deputized to make quorum for agenda item 4b and voted Aye.

Upon the motion by Vice Chair Papan and the second by Commissioner Glover, the Committee unanimously approved the referral of the Proposed Principles and Approach to the Distribution of Transit Funding from the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 4 Commissioner Glover, Vice Chair Papan, Chair Rabbitt and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 3 Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez and Commissioner Ronen
- Abstain: 1 Commissioner Miley

5. Public Comment / Other Business

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

Aleta Dupree was called to speak.

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Programming and Allocations Committee is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, June 9, 2021 at 9:45 a.m. remotely and by webcast. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.