

Meeting Minutes - Draft

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Executive Board

President, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley Vice President, Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa Immediate Past President, David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma

Thursday, October 15, 2020

6:05 PM

Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board Meeting No. 452 Special Meeting

The ABAG Executive Board may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 6:05 p.m.

Agenda, roster and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Candace Andersen, Jesse Arreguin, London Breed, Cindy Chavez, Christopher Clark, David Cortese, Lan Diep, Pat Eklund, Maya Esparza, Nikki Fortunato Bas, Richard Garbarino, Leon Garcia, Liz Gibbons, Lynette Gibson McElhaney, Scott Haggerty, Barbara Halliday, Erin Hannigan, Rich Hillis, David Hudson, Wayne Lee, Jake Mackenzie, Rafael Mandelman, Gordon Mar, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Raul Peralez, Julie Pierce, Dave Pine, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Dennis Rodoni, Warren Slocum, Loren Taylor, Lori Wilson.

Jayne Battey (Non-voting).

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

President Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 6:19 p.m. Quorum was present. Jayne Battey (Advisory Member, non-voting) was present.

Present: 33 - Andersen, Arenas, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Chan, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Eklund, Esparza, Garbarino, Garcia, Gibbons, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday,

Hillis, Hudson, Lee, Mackenzie, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce,

Pine, Rabbitt, Ramos, Rodoni, Taylor, and Wilson L

Absent: 1 - Hannigan

2. Public Comment

The following gave public comment: B. Beekman.

3. Executive Board Announcements

ABAG Executive Board October 15, 2020

4. President's Report

4.a. 20-1353 President's Report of October 15, 2020

President Arreguin gave the report.

5. Executive Director's Report

5.a. 20-1354 Executive Director's Report of October 15, 2020

Therese W. McMillan gave the report.

The following gave public comment: B. Beekman.

6. Executive Board Consent Calendar

The following gave public comment: B. Beekman.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Lee, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 31 - Andersen, Arenas, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Chan, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Eklund, Esparza, Garbarino, Garcia, Gibbons, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday, Hillis, Hudson, Lee, Mackenzie, Mandelman, Mar, Mitchoff, Pierce, Pine, Rabbitt, Ramos, Rodoni, Taylor, and Wilson L

Absent: 3 - Hannigan, Miley, and Peralez

- 6.a. 20-1357 Approval of ABAG Executive Board Minutes of September 17, 2020
- **6.b.** 20-1424 Adoption of Resolution No. 16-2020, Revised--Plan Bay Area 2050: Final Blueprint Strategies Amendment

7. Regional Housing Needs Allocation

ABAG Executive Board October 15, 2020

7.a. 20-1358

Report on Proposed Methodology for the 2023-31 Regional Housing Needs Allocation Cycle and Request for Authorization to Open Public Comment Period on Regional Housing Needs Allocation Methodology

Presentation of the Proposed Methodology for the 2023-31 RHNA cycle as recommended by the Housing Methodology Committee and Regional Planning Committee and request for the ABAG Executive Board's approval to release for public comment.

Matt Maloney and Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Luke Lindenbusch, B. Beekman, Newell Arnerich, Robert Fruchtman, Alice Kaufman, Attendee, Roland Lebrun, Kitty Morre, Marc Landgraf, Auros Harmon, Bill Clarkson, Delilah Clay, David Ying, Tom Butt, Tim Frank, Fernando Marti, Elizabeth Wampler, Tim McGallian, Marcus Helmer, Shajuti Hossain, Rick Bonilla, Scott Littlehale, Aaron Eckhouse, Bobbi Lopez, Alison Cingolani, John Minot, Justine Marcus, Neysa Fligor, Ruby Bolaria Shifin, Jelani Killings, Cindy Silva, Zarina Kiziloglu, Steven Scharf, Kelsey Banes, Michael Brilliot, Gabriel Quinto, Joshua Hugg, Ken Chan, Rod Sinks, Kameeka Bennett Rodney Nickens, Jordan Grimes, John Elberling, Sid Kapur, Jeff Levin, Rob Eastwood, Adam Buchbinder, Muni Madhdhipatla, Misha Sonen, R. Wang.

The following submitted public comment: Fred Allebach; City of Belvedere; City of Brisbane; Susan Candell; Contra Costa Mayors Conference, 10/2/20; Town of Corte Madera; City of El Cerrito; Green Foothills et al.; City of Lafayette; City of Mill Valley; City of Palo Alto; City of Piedmont; Public Advocates et al.; California YIMBY et al.; Town of Ross; City of San Rafael; Sonoma County Transportation Authority/Regional Climate Protection Authority, 9/29/20; SCTA/RCPA, 10/14/20; Open Space Authority Santa Clara Valley; Together Bay Area; Tri-Valley Cities.

A vote was taken on a substitute motion and then a vote was taken on the main motion.

Upon the motion by Clark and second by Lee, Option 8A, High Opportunity Areas Emphasis and Job Proximity, with the 2050 Households (Blueprint) baseline allocation, as the proposed RHNA methodology, as recommended by the Housing Methodology Committee and Regional Planning Committee, and the release of the Regional Housing Needs Allocation methodology for public comment and the opening of the public comment period on the Regional Housing Needs Allocation methodology were approved. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 23 - Arenas, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Chan, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Esparza, Gibbons, Gibson McElhaney, Halliday, Hillis, Lee, Mackenzie, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Peralez, Pine, Rabbitt, Taylor, and Wilson L

ABAG Executive Board October 15, 2020

Nay: 10 - Andersen, Eklund, Garbarino, Garcia, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Ramos, and Rodoni

Absent: 1 - Hannigan

Upon the substitute motion by Andersen and second by Hudson, the motion to continue discussion on the proposed Regional Housing Needs Allocation methodology to the next meeting was not approved. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Andersen, Eklund, Garbarino, Garcia, Haggerty, Hudson, Pierce, Ramos, and Rodoni

Nay: 24 - Arenas, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Chan, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Esparza, Gibbons, Gibson McElhaney, Halliday, Hillis, Lee, Mackenzie, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pine, Rabbitt, Taylor, and Wilson L

Absent: 1 - Hannigan

7.b. 20-1518 Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Draft Subregion Shares

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: B. Beekman.

Upon the motion by Arreguin and second by Mackenzie, the draft Regional Housing Needs Allocation shares of total housing need to each subregion and its release for public comment, as reported, was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 31 - Andersen, Arenas, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Chan, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Eklund, Esparza, Garbarino, Garcia, Gibbons, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday, Hillis, Lee, Mackenzie, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce, Pine, Rabbitt, Ramos, Taylor, and Wilson L

Absent: 3 - Hannigan, Hudson, and Rodoni

8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

President Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 10:50 p.m. The next meeting of the ABAG Executive Board is on November 19, 2020.