

# M

# Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

### **Meeting Minutes - Draft**

## **Policy Advisory Council**

Randi Kinman, Chair Cynthia L. Murray, Vice Chair

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

1:35 PM

**Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)** 

#### 1. Welcome

#### 2. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 21 - Burnett, Castellanos, Coates, Eldred, Florez, Hedges, Hernandez, Kallins, Kinman,

Lee, Levin, Lopez, Madden, Mendoza, Momoh, Murray, Schweng, Scott, Gotuaco,

Wilson and Baldini

Excused: 1 - Cochran

Absent: 2 - Ozim and Glover

3. <u>20-1381</u> Chair's Report

(10 minutes)

Action: Information

Presenter: Randi Kinman, Council Chair

4. 20-1382 Approval of the September 9, 2020 Meeting Minutes

(5 minutes)

Action: Approval

Presenter: Randi Kinman, Council Chair

Attachments: 04 Council Minutes Sept 9 2020.pdf

Upon the motion by Hedges and second by Florez, the September 9, 2020 Meeting Minutes were unanimously approved. The motion carried by the

following vote:

Aye: 21 - Burnett, Castellanos, Coates, Eldred, Florez, Hedges, Hernandez, Kallins, Kinman,

Lee, Levin, Lopez, Madden, Mendoza, Momoh, Murray, Schweng, Scott, Gotuaco,

Wilson and Baldini

Absent: 3 - Cochran, Ozim and Glover

#### 5. Public Comments / Other Business

**6.** <u>20-1413</u> Regional Active Transportation Plan Scope

(30 minutes)

Presentation on the Active Transportation Plan scope of work, timeline and stakeholder engagement, as well as local active transportation Covid-19

strategies.

<u>Action:</u> Information
<u>Presenter:</u> Kara Oberg

Attachments: 06 AT Plan.pdf

Ken Bukowski was called to speak.

#### 7. <u>20-1506</u> Subcommittee Reports

Equity & Access Subcommittee Members: Richard Burnett, Rick Coates, Anne Olivia Eldred, Veda Florez, Christina Gotuaco, Richard Hedges, Michelle Hernandez, Michael Lopez, Rahmon Momoh, and Daisy Ozim

Fare Coordination and Integration Subcommittee Members: Bob Allen, Urban Habitat; Cat Carter, SF Transit Riders; Abigail Cochran, Policy Advisory Council - Disabled; Anne Olivia Eldred, Policy Advisory Council - Environment; Ian Griffiths, Seamless Bay Area; Tisha Dee Hartman, West Valley College; Richard Hedges, Policy Advisory Council - Senior; Wendi Kallins, Policy Advisory Council - Environment; Jonathon Kass, SPUR; Randi Kinman, Policy Advisory Council - Low Income; Adina Levin, Policy Advisory Council - Environment; Gwen Litvak, Bay Area Council; Monica Mallon, Silicon Valley Transit Users/SJSU; Adrian Mendoza, Policy Advisory Council - Minority; and Brian Stanke, City of San Jose DOT

Action: Information

<u>Presenter:</u> Veda Florez, Policy Advisory Council Equity & Access Subcommittee

Chair and

Adina Levin, Policy Advisory Council Fare Coordination and Integration
Subcommittee Chair

Attachments: 07 Seamless-SPUR-Ir.pdf

Upon the motion by Eldred and second by Kallins, a support position on the four recommendations drafted by SPUR/Seamless Bay Area for consideration as part of the Blue Ribbon Transit Recovery Task Force & Transformation Action Plan that includes: A. Support the long term goal of a connected, equitable, efficient, and rider-focused transit system across the Bay Area that has integrated service, fares, schedules, and customer information, and common identity; B. Identify governance and funding reforms, including legislation, that support creation of an effective transportation network manager in the Bay Area with the authority and mandate to integrate all forms of Bay Area transit; C. Fully analyze of options for transit agency consolidations and their potential to support a more integrated, accessible, rider-focused system; and D. Bring on relevant subject matter experts with domestic and global expertise in effective transportation governance and organization to complete the analysis of governance and funding, was unanimously adopted to be forwarded to the MTC and Blue Ribbon Transit Recovery Task Force. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 21 - Burnett, Castellanos, Coates, Eldred, Florez, Hedges, Hernandez, Kallins, Kinman, Lee, Levin, Lopez, Madden, Mendoza, Momoh, Murray, Schweng, Scott, Gotuaco, Wilson and Baldini

Absent: 3 - Cochran, Ozim and Glover

8. <u>20-1383</u> Blue Ribbon Transit Recovery Task Force Update

(30 minutes)

Update on the Blue Ribbon Transit Recovery Task Force.

Action: Information

**Presenter:** Theresa Romell and Melanie Choy

Attachments: 08 BRTRTF.pdf

9. 20-1384 Staff Liaison Report

(5 minutes)

Relevant MTC policy decisions and other activities.

Action: Information

Presenter: Marti Paschal, Staff Liaison

Attachments: 09 Staff Liaison Report October 2020.pdf

**10.** <u>20-1385</u> Council Member Reports

(10 minutes)

Members of the Council may report on locally relevant issues or events.

Action: Information

Presenter: Randi Kinman, Council Chair

**11.** <u>20-1386</u> New Business

(5 minutes)

Members of the Council may bring up new business for discussion or

addition to a future agenda.

Action: Discussion

Presenter: Randi Kinman, Council Chair

#### 12. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Policy Advisory Council will be held Tuesday, November 17, 2020 at 3:05 p.m. remotely and by webcast as appropriate depending on the status of any shelter in place orders. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.