

Meeting Minutes - Draft

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Regional Planning Committee

Chair, Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Vice Chair, Carlos Romero, Urban Ecology

Thursday, October 1, 2020 1:30 PM Remote

Association of Bay Area Governments Regional Planning Committee

The ABAG Regional Planning Committee may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 1:30 p.m.

Agenda, roster and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Susan Adams, Jesse Arreguin, Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, Rick Bonilla, Mark Boucher, Monica Brown, Paul Campos, David Canepa, Kathleen Cha, Cindy Chavez, Amber Crabbe, Diane Dillon, Pat Eklund, Neysa Fligor, Scott Haggerty, Russell Hancock, Melissa Jones, Rafael Mandelman, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Julie Pierce, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Matt Regan, Katie Rice, Carlos Romero, Mark Ross, Al Savay, Gregory Scharff, Scott Sedgley, James Spering, Sonja Trauss, Lori Wilson

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Mitchoff called the meeting to order at about 1:30 p.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 28 - Adams, Arreguin, Ashcraft, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Canepa, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Haggerty, Hancock, Mandelman, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce,

Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Scharff, Sedgley, Spering, Trauss, and Wilson I

Absent: 5 - Campos, Dillon, Jones, Rabbitt, and Ramos

2. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

3. Chair's Report

3.a. <u>20-1327</u> ABAG Regional Planning Committee Chair's Report of October 1, 2020

Chair Mitchoff gave the report.

4. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Spering and second by Bonilla, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 26 - Adams, Ashcraft, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Canepa, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Haggerty, Hancock, Mandelman, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Scharff, Sedgley, Spering, and Trauss

Absent: 7 - Arreguin, Campos, Dillon, Jones, Rabbitt, Ramos, and Wilson L

4.a. 20-1328 Approval of ABAG Regional Planning Committee Minutes of September 10, 2020

5. Regional Housing Needs Allocation

5.a. 20-1329 Recommendation for Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Proposed Methodology

Presentation on the Proposed Methodology for the 2023-31 RHNA cycle as recommended by the Housing Methodology Committee, and request that the Committee refer the Methodology to the ABAG Executive Board for their consideration.

Matt Maloney and Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Cliff Lentz; Tim Frank; Aaron Eckhouse; Scott Littlehale; Rodney Nickens; Kevin Riley; Thomas West; Jane Riley; Shajuti Hossain; Darin Ranelletti; Fernando Marti; Ken Chan; Justine Marcus; Vadim Graboys; Derek Sagehorn; Adam Buchbinder; Jeff Levin; Ira Kaplan; Robert Fruchtman; Nico Nagle; Sarah Ogilvie; Kelsey Banes; Darrell Owens; Sabeek Pradhan; Jordon Grimes; Sidharth Kapur.

The following submitted public comment: Terry O'Connel, City of Brisbane; Ed Shikada, City of Palo Alto; Arturo Cruz, City of San Pablo; Mike Anderson, City of Lafayette; Kymberleigh Korpus, Town of Moraga; Jelani Killings, City of Pittsburg.

Upon the motion by Pierce and second by Eklund, the Regional Planning Committee recommended Executive Board approval of Option 8a as the proposed Regional Housing Needs Allocation methodology, as reported. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 16 - Adams, Arreguin, Ashcraft, Bonilla, Boucher, Canepa, Cha, Crabbe, Fligor, Hancock, Mandelman, Regan, Romero, Sedgley, Trauss, and Wilson L

Nay: 8 - Brown, Eklund, Haggerty, Mitchoff, Pierce, Ross, Scharff, and Spering

Absent: 8 - Campos, Chavez, Dillon, Jones, Rabbitt, Ramos, Rice, and Savay

Abstain: 1 - Miley

5.b. 20-1479 Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Draft Subregion Shares

Upon the motion by Pierce and second by Wilson, the Regional Planning Committee recommended Executive Board approval of the draft shares of total Regional Housing Need Allocation to each subregion, as reported. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 23 - Adams, Arreguin, Ashcraft, Bonilla, Boucher, Brown, Canepa, Cha, Crabbe, Eklund, Haggerty, Hancock, Mandelman, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Romero, Ross, Scharff, Sedgley, Spering, and Wilson L

Absent: 10 - Campos, Chavez, Dillon, Fligor, Jones, Rabbitt, Ramos, Rice, Savay, and Trauss

Page 3

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Mitchoff adjourned the meeting at about 4:36 p.m. The next meeting of the Regional Planning Committee is on November 12, 2020.