Metropolitan Transportation Commission and Association of Bay Area Government Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

September 11, 2020 Agenda Item 2

Appointment of the Chair and Vice Chair

Subject: Appointment of a Chair and Vice Chair of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation

Committee.

Background: The Metropolitan Transportation Commission approved MTC Resolution No.

1058, Revised at its August 26, 2020 meeting to allow amendments to the

Commission Procedures Manual to replace the MTC Legislation Committee with a new Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee as recommended by the Joint ABAG MTC Governance Committee. Additionally, the ABAG Executive Board

approved ABAG Resolution No. 15-2020, which disbanded the ABAG

Legislation Committee and authorized the appointment of members to the Joint

MTC ABAG Legislation Committee, at its August 20, 2020 meeting.

The approved roster of the committee is attached.

Issues: Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair: The committee will be asked to

nominate and approve a Chair and Vice Chair of the committee, with one being a

member of the ABAG Executive Board and one being a member of the

Commission.

Attachments: Attachment A: Membership Roster for the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation

Committee

Alix A. Bockelman

JOINT MTC ABAG LEGISLATION COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

MTC Committee Members (9 Voting + 2 non-voting = 11)

(9 Voting members)

2 City + 6 County + BCDC

5 City + 4 County

CITY

Jake Mackenzie, Rohnert Park [N]¹ Sam Liccardo, San Jose [S]

CITY

Julie Pierce, Clayton [E]
Dave Hudson, San Ramon [E]

Jesse Arreguin, Berkeley, ABAG Pres. [E]

Barbara Halliday, Hayward [E]

Pat Eklund, Novato [N]

COUNTY

Sup. Damon Connolly (Marin) [N]

Sup. Scott Haggerty (Alameda), MTC Chair [E]

Sup. Dave Cortese (Santa Clara) [S]

Sup. Warren Slocum (San Mateo) [W]

Sup. Jim Spering, (Solano) [N]

Sup. Alfredo Pedroza (Napa) MTC Vice Chair, [N]

Eddie Ahn (BCDC rep) [W]

COUNTY

Sup. David Rabbitt (Sonoma) [N]

Sup. Karen Mitchoff (Contra Costa) [E]

Sup. Belia Ramos (Sonoma), ABAG V.P. [N]

Sup. Gordon Mar (San Francisco) [W]

Dorene M. Giacopini, DOT rep [non-voting] Jimmy Stracner, HUD rep [non-voting]

MTC Geographic Distribution			ABAG Geographic Distribution	Totals
North Bay	= 4	+	North Bay $= 3$	7
South Bay	= 2	+	South Bay $= 0$	2
East Bay	= 1	+	East Bay $= 5$	6
West Bay	= 2	+	West Bay $= 1$	3

*MTC currently has two non-voting Commissioners appointed to the Commission's existing Legislation Committee. Because it was the desire of both Chair Haggerty and President Arreguin that all current ABAG and MTC appointees to the separate Legislation Committees have a seat on the initial consolidated Joint Committee, Commissioners Giacopini and Stractner will be included.

It is important to note that their presence on the Joint Committee does not affect the important objective of ensuring that <u>voting</u> members are of equal number between ABAG Executive Board members, and MTC Commissioners- nine each. MTC will be reviewing all of its Committee appointments when its Chairmanship rotates in February 2021, and MTC appointments to this joint committee will be reassessed at that time.

¹ [N] = North Bay; [E] = East Bay; [W] = West Bay (SF & San Mateo Co.); [S] = South Bay (Santa Clara Co.)