

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California

ABAG Housing Methodology Committee

Chair, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley

Thursday, May 14, 2020 9:05 AM Yerba Buena - 1st Floor

Association of Bay Area Governments Housing Methodology Committee

The ABAG Housing Methodology Committee may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:05 a.m.

Agenda and roster available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Josh Abrams, Susan Adams, Anita Addison, Jesse Arreguin, Rupinder Bolaria, Rick Bonilla, Michael Brilliot, Monica Brown, Amanda Brown-Stevens, Paul Campos, Ellen Clark, Diane Dillon, Forrest Ebbs, Pat Eklund, Jonathan Fearn, Victoria Fierce, Neysa Fligor, Mindy Gentry, Russell Hancock, Welton Jordan, Megan Kirkeby, Brandon Kline, Jeffrey Levin, Scott Littlehale, Fernando Marti, Rodney Nickens, Jr., James Pappas, Julie Pierce, Bob Planthold, Darin Ranelletti, Matt Regan, Jane Riley, Carlos Romero, Elise Semonian, Aarti Shrivastava, Vin Smith, Matt Walsh

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 9:08 a.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 35 - Abrams, Adams, Addison, Arreguin, Bolaria-Shifrin, Bonilla, Brilliot, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Clark, Dillon, Ebbs, Eklund, Fearn, Fierce, Fligor, Gentry, Jordan, Levin, Littlehale, Macedo, Marti, Nickens, Pappas, Pierce, Planthold, Ranelletti, Regan, Riley, Romero, Semonian, Shrivastava, Smith, and Walsh

Absent: 2 - Hancock, and Kline

2. Public Comment

The following gave public comment: Tim Frank.

3. Chair's Report

3.a. 20-0609 ABAG Housing Methodology Committee Chair's Report

Chair Arreguin gave the report.

4. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Bonilla and second by Eklund, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 33 - Abrams, Adams, Addison, Arreguin, Bolaria-Shifrin, Bonilla, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Clark, Dillon, Ebbs, Eklund, Fearn, Fierce, Fligor, Gentry, Jordan, Levin, Littlehale, Macedo, Nickens, Pappas, Pierce, Planthold, Ranelletti, Regan, Riley, Romero, Semonian, Shrivastava, Smith, and Walsh

Absent: 4 - Brilliot, Hancock, Kline, and Marti

4.a. 20-0606 Approval of ABAG Housing Methodology Committee minutes of March 12, 2020

5. Income Allocation

5.a. 20-0607 Potential Approaches for the Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Income Allocation Methodology

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Aaron Eckhouse, David Early, Shajuti Hossain, Tim Frank.

6. Methodology Evaluation

6.a. 20-0608 Potential Metrics for Evaluating RHNA Methodology Options

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Aaron Eckhouse, David Early.

7. Small Group Discussions

7.a. 20-0808 Small Group Discussions on Income Allocation Methodology and Methodology Evaluation Metrics

8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 12:45 p.m. The next meeting of the ABAG Housing Methodology Committee is on June 19, 2020.