

Meeting Minutes - Draft

ABAG Housing Methodology Committee

Chair, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley

Friday, January 24, 2020	10:00 AM	Yerba Buena - 1st Floor
--------------------------	----------	-------------------------

Association of Bay Area Governments Housing Methodology Committee

The ABAG Housing Methodology Committee may act on any item on the agenda. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m. Agenda and roster available at https://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Josh Abrams, Susan Adams, Anita Addison, Jesse Arreguin, Rupinder Bolaria, Rick Bonilla, Michael Brilliot, Monica Brown, Amanda Brown-Stevens, Paul Campos, Ellen Clark, Diane Dillon, Forrest Ebbs, Pat Eklund, Jonathan Fearn, Victoria Fierce, Neysa Fligor, Mindy Gentry, Russell Hancock, Paolo Ikezoe, Welton Jordan, Megan Kirkeby, Brandon Kline, Jeffrey Levin, Scott Littlehale, Fernando Marti, Rodney Nickens, Jr., Julie Pierce, Bob Planthold, Darin Ranelletti, Matt Regan, Jane Riley, Carlos Romero, Elise Semonian, Aarti Shrivastava, Vin Smith, Matt Walsh

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 10:05 a.m. Quorum was present.

- Present: 30 Adams, Abrams, Addison, Arreguin, Bonilla, Brilliot, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Clark, Dillon, Eklund, Fearn, Fierce, Fligor, Gentry, Ikezoe, Jordan, Kline, Littlehale, Levin, Nickens, Pierce, Planthold, Ranelletti, Regan, Riley, Romero, Semonian, Shrivastava, and Walsh
- Absent: 7 Bolaria-Shifrin, Campos, Ebbs, Hancock, Kirkeby, Marti, and Smith

2. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

3. Chair's Report

3.a. <u>20-0178</u> Chair's Report

Chair Arreguin gave the Chair's report.

4. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Planthold and second by Romero, the Consent Calendar was approved, including minutes of December 19, 2019. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 26 Adams, Abrams, Addison, Arreguin, Bonilla, Brilliot, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Clark, Dillon, Eklund, Fierce, Gentry, Jordan, Kline, Littlehale, Levin, Nickens, Planthold, Ranelletti, Regan, Riley, Romero, Semonian, Shrivastava, and Walsh
- Absent: 11 Bolaria-Shifrin, Campos, Ebbs, Fearn, Fligor, Hancock, Ikezoe, Kirkeby, Marti, Pierce, and Smith
- **4.a.** <u>20-0179</u> Approval of ABAG Housing Methodology Committee Minutes of December 19, 2019

5. RHNA Methodology Factors

The following members joined the meeting: Neysa Fligor, Jonathan Fearn, Paolo Ikezoe, Julie Pierce.

5.a. <u>20-0180</u> Continuation of the Discussion of Potential Factors to Include in the RHNA Methodology

Staff will provide information about potential factors for inclusion in the RHNA methodology based on the feedback provided at the December meeting.

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Paul Foreman; Shajuti Hossain; Justine Marcus; Aaron Eckhouse; Jay Garfinkle.

Lunch / Break

6. RHNA Methodology

6.a. <u>20-0181</u> Report on Draft Proposal of Criteria for Evaluating Allocation Methodology Options

Staff will provide an overview of draft criteria for evaluating allocation methodology options as they are developed. The proposed criteria are based on the review of other regions' draft methodologies by the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD).

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: David Early; Aaron Eckhouse; Jay Garfinkle; Afshan Hamid.

7. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 1:20 p.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Housing Methodology Committee is on February 18, 20120.