## **M**EMORANDUM

## ASSOCIATION OF BAY AREA GOVERNMENTS

Representing City and County Governments of the San Francisco Bay Area



DATE: June 13, 2019

TO: ABAG POWER Executive Committee

FROM: Therese W. McMillan

Executive Director, Metropolitan Transportation Commission

RE: Attachment 5A - Appointment of ABAG POWER President

## **Background**

The POWER Bylaws were adopted on October 22, 1997, and were amended in 1997, 2002, 2004, and 2016. The Bylaws currently provide that the Board of Directors or Executive Committee of ABAG POWER shall appoint the President, Chief Financial Officer/Treasurer, and Secretary for ABAG POWER (Article 8.1).

Steve Heminger, the program's prior President and the Executive Director of ABAG/MTC, retired effective February 28, 2019.

Brad Paul started as the Deputy Director of the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) in 2013 before serving as Acting Executive Director of ABAG from November 2016 to June 2017. Mr. Paul is now the Deputy Executive Director for Local Government Services at MTC, providing oversight of the San Francisco Estuary Partnership, ABAG POWER, the Bay Area Regional Energy Network (BayREN), and the Advancing California Finance Authority.

The responsibilities of the President, as detailed in the Bylaws, include generally supervising, directing, and controlling the business and the employees of ABAG POWER. He or she has such other powers and duties as may be prescribed by the Board or the Bylaws.

## **Recommended Action**

The POWER Executive Committee is requested to appoint Brad Paul, Deputy Executive Director of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission, as the ABAG POWER President, effective immediately.

Therese W. McMillan

Theresold.