

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Scott Haggerty, Chair Alfredo Pedroza, Vice Chair

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

9:40 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor

Call Meeting to Order

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 16 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Liccardo,

Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Mackenzie, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner

Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering, and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 2 - Commission Vice Chair Pedroza, and Commissioner Halsted

Non-Voting Commissioner Present: Commissioner Giacopini

Non-Voting Commissioners Absent: Commissioner Jackson, Commissioner Tavares

2. Chair's Report (Haggerty)

2a. 19-0381 Compliance with Transit Representation Requirement

A request for approval of a list of Commissioners representing public transportation pursuant to Federal Requirements.

Action: Commission Approval

Upon the motion by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci and the second by Commissioner Glover, the Commission unanimously approved Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Spering, and Commissioner Worth as representatives of public transit on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission pursuant to Federal Requirements. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 16 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Mackenzie, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 2 - Commission Vice Chair Pedroza and Commissioner Halsted

- 3. Policy Advisory Council Report (Randi Kinman)
- 4. Executive Director's Report (McMillan)
- 5. Commissioner Comments
- 6. Consent Calendar:

Upon the motion by Commissioner Bruins and the second by Commissioner Mackenzie, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 16 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Liccardo,
Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci,
Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Mackenzie,
Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 2 - Commission Vice Chair Pedroza and Commissioner Halsted

6a. 19-0317 Minutes of the March 27, 2019 meeting

Action: Commission Approval

Programming and Allocations Committee

6b. 19-0141 MTC Resolution No. 4273, Revised. Program of Projects for FY2018-19

Cap and Trade Low Carbon Transit Operations Program.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Craig Bosman

6c. 19-0288 MTC Resolution No. 4035, Revised. Revisions to the One Bay Area Grant

Program (OBAG 1) to redirect funding for AC Transit within the Bay Bridge

Forward suite of projects.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Mallory Atkinson

6d. 19-0291 MTC Resolution No. 4375, Revised. 2019 Transportation Improvement

Program (TIP) Amendment 2019-12.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Adam Crenshaw

6e. <u>19-0307</u> Proposed agreements with the Kern Council of Governments, Tehama

County Transportation Commission (Tehama CTC) and the Tuolumne County Transportation Council (Tuolumne CTC) for exchange of federal apportionment. A request to authorize agreements with the Tehama CTC and the Tuolumne CTC to exchange up to a total of \$11.8 million in Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) funds in Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2018-19 with an equal amount of CMAQ funds

in FFY 2019-20.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Ross McKeown

Committee Reports

7. Programming and Allocations Committee – Josefowitz

7a. 19-0290 Regional Cap and Trade Priorities: Affordable Housing and Sustainable

Communities

Based on the Commission's adopted criteria, staff will present recommended priorities for Round 4 of the Affordable Housing and Sustainable Communities program, which is a statewide competitive program funded by State Cap and Trade proceeds.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Craig Bosman

Upon the motion by Commissioner Josefowitz and the second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Commission unanimously approved the recommended priorities for Round 4 of the Affordable Housing and Sustainable Communities program. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 16 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Liccardo,
Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci,
Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Mackenzie,
Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner
Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 2 - Commission Vice Chair Pedroza and Commissioner Halsted

8. MTC Legislation Committee - Mackenzie

8a. 19-0349 MTC Resolution No. 3931, Revised - Policy Advisory Council Appointment

Action: MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Ellen Griffin

Upon the motion by Commissioner Mackenzie and the second by Commissioner Glover, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 3931, Revised - Policy Advisory Council Appointment. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 16 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Liccardo,
Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci,
Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Mackenzie,
Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 2 - Commission Vice Chair Pedroza and Commissioner Halsted

8b. <u>19-0347</u> SB 152 (Beall): Active Transportation Program Reform

Update on this MTC-sponsored bill to improve administration of the state's bicycle and pedestrian funding program and recommend ABAG adopt a support position.

Action: Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Rebecca Long

Upon the motion by Commissioner Mackenzie and the second by Commissioner Glover, the Commission unanimously adopted a support position on SB 152 (Beall). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 16 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Liccardo,
Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci,
Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Mackenzie,
Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 2 - Commission Vice Chair Pedroza and Commissioner Halsted

8c. <u>19-0411</u> ABAG / MTC Housing Legislative Working Group Update

An update on the ABAG / MTC Housing Legislative Working Group meetings to date.

Ken Bukowski was called to speak.

9. Public Comment / Other Business

Ken Bukowski was called to speak.

Jim Stallman was called to speak.

10. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next meeting of the Commission will be held on May 22, 2019 at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105.

The meeting was adjourned in memory of former MTC Chairman Robert Schroder.

Scott Haggerty, Chair