## Agenda Item 3a

ABAG

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

# **Meeting Minutes - Draft**

# **ABAG Legislation Committee**

Chair, Julie Pierce, Vice Mayor, City of Clayton Vice Chair, Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa		
Friday, April 12, 2019	9:15 AM	Board Room - 1st Floor
	Association of Bay Area Governments Legislation Committee	

The ABAG Legislation Committee may act on any item on the agenda. The ABAG Legislation Committee will meet jointly with the MTC Legislation Committee. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:15 a.m., or immediately following the preceding committee meeting. Agenda, roster, and webcast available at http://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

> Legislation Committee Roster Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Chair Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa—Vice Chair Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma

## 1. Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Pierce called the meeting to order at about 9:31 a.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 8 - Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Absent: 1 - Arreguin

## 2. ABAG Compensation Announcement - ABAG Clerk of the Board

The Clerk gave the ABAG compensation announcement.

## 3. ABAG Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Hudson, the ABAG Legislation Committee approved the consent calendar. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Cortese, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, and Rabbitt
- Absent: 3 Arreguin, Eklund, and Ramos
- **3.a.** <u>19-0384</u> Approval of ABAG Legislation Committee Summary Minutes of the March 21, 2019 Meeting

#### 4. ABAG Legislation Committee Approval

**4.a.** <u>19-0385</u> AB 393 (Nazarian): Building Standards

This bill would require the California Building Standards Commission, to assemble a functional recovery working group to consider whether a "functional recovery" standard is warranted for all or some building occupancy classifications, using specified criteria, and to investigate the practical means of implementing that standard, as specified.

Upon the motion by Hudson and second by Mitchoff, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended Executive Board support of AB 393. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Cortese, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, and Rabbitt
- Absent: 3 Arreguin, Eklund, and Ramos
- **4.b.** <u>19-0386</u> AB 429 (Nazarian): Seismically Vulnerable Buildings Inventory

This bill would require the Alfred E. Alquist Seismic Safety Commission, by specified deadlines, to identify funding and develop a bidding process for hiring a third-party contractor to create an inventory of potentially vulnerable buildings, as defined. The bill would require the third-party contractor, in conjunction with the commission, by July 1, 2022, to develop a statewide inventory of potentially seismically vulnerable buildings in 29 specified counties in California using information developed by local jurisdictions pursuant to the above-described provisions.

Eklund joined the meeting.

Upon the motion by Rabbitt and second by Cortese, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended Executive Board support of AB 429. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, and Rabbitt

Absent: 2 - Arreguin, and Ramos

**4.c.** <u>19-0387</u> SB 254 (Hertzberg): The Resilient Homes Initiative

This bill would limit the amount of the investment grade revenue bonds or other debt financing to an amount up to \$1 billion outstanding at any time, excluding those specified costs.

Ramos joined the meeting.

Upon the motion by Hudson and second by Rabbitt, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended Executive Board support and seek amendments on SB 254. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Absent: 1 - Arreguin

#### 5. MTC Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

- **5.a.** <u>19-0388</u> Approval of MTC Legislation Committee Minutes of the March 8, 2019 Meeting
- 5.b. <u>19-0389</u> MTC Resolution No. 3931, Revised Policy Advisory Council Appointment

#### 6. Legislative History

The ABAG Legislation Committee and the MTC Legislation Committee received the staff report.

6.a. <u>19-0390</u> Legislative History

Detailed list of bills the Commission is tracking in Sacramento and Washington D.C., including those ABAG or MTC supports or opposes.

#### 7. State Legislation

7.a. <u>19-0391</u> SB 152 (Beall): Active Transportation Program Reform

Update on this MTC-sponsored bill to improve administration of the state's bicycle and pedestrian funding program and recommend ABAG adopt a support position.

The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Hudson, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended Executive Board support on SB 152. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Absent: 1 - Arreguin

7.b. <u>19-0392</u> State Housing Legislative Landscape

Overview and update on the latest developments of bills related to the state's housing crisis and a report to the committee regarding the discussion at the first meeting of the Housing Legislative Working Group.

The ABAG Legislation Committee and the MTC Legislation Committee received the staff report.

### 8. Federal Legislation

The ABAG Legislation Committee and the MTC Legislation Committee received the staff report.

8.a. <u>19-0393</u> Tom Bulger's Report

Report from Washington, D.C. advocate.

## 9. Public Comment / Other Business

There was no public comment.

## 10. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Pierce adjourned the ABAG Legislation Committee at about 11:27 a.m. The next special meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee is on May 10, 2019.