

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

9:35 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor

Call Meeting to Order

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 17 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz,

Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum,

Commissioner Spering, and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Glover

Non-Voting Commissioners Present: Commissioner Azumbrado and Commissioner Giacopini Non-Voting Commissioner Absent: Commissioner Tavares

2. Chair's Report - Mackenzie

18-0985

Commission Chair Mackenzie requested the Commission's approval to take action on an item that came to his attention after the posting of the agenda, namely, the need to add members to the Executive Director Selection Committee.

In accordance with Government Code Section 54954.2(b)(2), Commission Chair Mackenzie made a motion for a determination that there was a need to take immediate action and that the need for action came to MTC's attention subsequent to the agenda being posted. Upon the second by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, the Commission approved the motion which authorized the Commission to take action on the addition of members to the Executive Director Selection Committee. The motion unanimously carried by the following vote:

Aye: 17 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Glover

2a. 18-0986

Commission Chair Mackenzie requested the Commission's approval to appoint two new voting members: Commissioner Alicia Aguirre and Commissioner Federal Glover, and two new non-voting members: Commissioner Jane Kim and Commissioner Libby Schaaf to the Executive Director Selection Committee.

Bob Allen, Urban Habitat, was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Commission Chair Mackenzie and the second by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, the Commission approved the addition of two new voting members: Commissioner Alicia Aguirre and Commissioner Federal Glover, and two new non-voting members: Commissioner Jane Kim and Commissioner Libby Schaaf to the Executive Director Selection Committee. The motion unanimously carried by the following vote:

Aye: 17 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Glover

3. Policy Advisory Council Report - Randi Kinman

No report was provided.

- 4. Executive Director's Report Heminger
- 5. Commissioner Comments
- 6. Consent Calendar:

Approval of the Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty and the second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 17 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Glover

6a. <u>18-0901</u> Minutes of the September 26, 2018 meeting

Action: Commission Approval

Administration Committee

6b. 18-0773 MTC Resolution No. 4352 - Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)

Program - Federal Transit Administration-Assisted Activities

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Luz Campos / Denise Rodrigues

6c. <u>18-0808</u> MTC Resolution No. 4330, Revised - FY 2018-19 MTC Agency Budget

Amendment

MTC FY 2018-19 Agency budget is being amended to add \$7.5 million to the operating budget and to add \$194 million to the Next Generation

Clipper® (C2) budget for the C2 development project.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Brian Mayhew

Programming and Allocations

6d. 18-0783 MTC Resolution No. 4354. Allocation of \$1.5 million in Regional Measure 2

(RM2) funds to BART for the BART/MUNI Access on Market Street

Corridor Project.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Craig Bosman

6e. <u>18-0800</u> MTC Resolution Nos. 4334, Revised and 4335, Revised. Allocation of

\$13.3 million in Transportation Development Act (TDA) and State Transit Assistance (STA) funds to Marin Transit and the City of Santa Rosa to

support transit operations.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Cheryl Chi

6f. 18-0823 STIP Amendment (AB 3090 Reimbursement) Request for American

Canyon's Devlin Rd and Vine Trail Extension project in Napa County.

Action: Committee Approval

Presenter: Kenneth Kao

Committee Reports

7. Programming and Allocations Committee – Josefowitz

7a. <u>18-0516</u> MTC Resolution Nos. 4348 and 4308, Revised. Approval of Housing Incentive Pool program criteria.

A presentation and update on the proposed criteria for distribution of the \$76 million Housing Incentive Pool (HIP) program, which provides transportation funds to reward jurisdictions that produce and preserve the most affordable housing. Staff will also provide an update on local compliance with affordable housing laws.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Anne Richman and Gillian Adams

Pedro Galvao was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Josefowitz and the second by Commissioner Spering, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution Nos. 4348 and 4308, Revised approving the Housing Incentive Pool program criteria. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Nay: 2 - Commissioner Bruins and Commissioner Pierce

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Glover

8. Public Comment / Other Business

Rich Hedges was called to speak.

9. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Commission will be held on November 28, 2018 at 9:00 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105.

				<u> </u>			
Jake Mackenzie, Chair							