ASSOCIATION OF BAY AREA GOVERNMENTS

Representing City and County Governments of the San Francisco Bay Area



Date: September 13, 2018

To: ABAG Executive Board

From: ABAG President

Subject: Ratification of Appointments to the Ad Hoc Committee to Facilitate the

Selection of the Future ABAG and MTC Executive Director

Executive Summary

With Steve Heminger's announcement of his retirement next February 2019, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission has begun the search process for the next Executive Director.

In the *Memorandum of Understanding* between MTC and ABAG, Section 6 covers the process for the selection of any future Executive Director.

6. Selection of Future Executive Director

The Executive Director of MTC will continue to serve as the Executive Director of MTC under the Contract for Services between MTC and ABAG. The Executive Director of MTC will also serve as the initial Executive Director of the consolidated staff. If there is a vacancy in the position of the Executive Director prior to the merger of MTC and ABAG, the Chair of MTC will establish an Executive Director interview/selection committee comprised of MTC commissioners who do not serve on ABAG, with the exception of the ABAG representative on the Commission who will be a member of the committee, to interview and select a final candidate or candidates who will then be presented to an ABAG Ad Hoc review committee should the ABAG President decide in his or her discretion to establish one. The MTC Chair and ABAG President, may in their discretion, appoint themselves, the MTC Vice Chair and ABAG Vice President and ABAG appointed representative on the MTC Commission, respectively, to serve on the respective interview committee and none of the five aforementioned officers/board members shall be deemed ineligible if serving in a dual capacity for each agency. If an ABAG Ad Hoc review committee is appointed, its recommendation will be communicated to the MTC interview/selection committee who will then make a recommendation to the full Commission for the final decision.

As per the above process, I have named a seven-member ABAG Ad Hoc Committee to facilitate the selection of the new Executive Director of ABAG and MTC. The ABAG Ad Hoc Committee consists of:

Ratification of Appointments

September 13, 2018 Page 2

> Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma, ABAG President Council Member Greg Scharff, City of Palo Alto, ABAG Vice President Supervisor Cindy Chavez, County of Santa Clara Councilmember Abel Guillen, City of Oakland Councilmember Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco Supervisor Karen Mitchoff, County of Contra Costa Supervisor Belia Ramos, County of Napa

According to ABAG's Bylaws, the President appoints committees with the advice and consent of the Executive Board and the committee shall elect their chairperson subject to confirmation by the Executive Board (Article IX, F.). Furthermore, the Executive Board may designate whether individuals participating in a special committee shall receive *per diem* (Article VII, A., (7).

Recommended Action

The Executive Board is requested to ratify the appointments of members to the Ad Hoc Committee to Facilitate the Selection of the Future ABAG and MTC Executive Director and to designate that the committee members are eligible to receive per diem.

David Rabbit