# Agenda Item 4a

# **SUMMARY MINUTES (DRAFT)**

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting
Friday, May 11, 2018
Bay Area Metro Center
375 Beale Street, Board Room
San Francisco, California

### 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma, called the special meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 10:25 a.m.

The ABAG Administrative Committee met jointly with the MTC Planning Committee.

Chair Rabbitt directed the Clerk of the Board to conduct the roll call.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 10:25 a.m.

#### **Members Present**

David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara Pradeep Gupta, Councilmember, City of South San Francisco Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda Jake Mackenzie, Councilmember, City of Rohnert Park Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—*Ex officio* 

### **Members Absent**

Cindy Chavez, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara Raul Peralez, Councilmember, City of San Jose David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma—Chair Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto—Vice Chair

### **Staff Present**

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director
Adrienne Weil, MTC General Counsel
Alix Bockelman, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Policy
Andrew Fremier, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Operations
Brad Paul, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Local Government Services
Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director

### 2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, ABAG Clerk of the Board, gave the ABAG compensation announcement.

Agenda Item 4a

**Summary Minutes (Draft)** 

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, May 11, 2018

Page 2

### 3. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

# A. Approval of ABAG Administrative Committee Summary Minutes of the April 13, 2018 Meeting

Chair Rabbitt recognized a motion by Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, which was seconded by Pradeep Gupta, Councilmember, City of South San Francisco, to approve the Consent Calendar.

There was no committee discussion.

There was no public comment.

Chair Rabbitt directed the Clerk of the Board to conduct the roll call vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Gupta, Haggerty, Mackenzie, Mitchoff, Pierce.

The nay votes were: None The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Chavez, Peralez, Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff.

The ABAG Administrative Committee motion passed.

### 4. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

# A. Approval of MTC Planning Committee Minutes of the April 13, 2018 Meeting

The MTC Planning Committee took action on this item.

### 5. INFORMATION

# A. Plan Bay Area 2040, "Action Plan" - Implementation Efforts

Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director, gave an update on ABAG and MTC's progress toward implementing actions articulated in the Plan Bay Area 2040 Action Plan to address housing, economic development, and resilience challenges.

Members discussed Resilience by Design next steps; locating jobs in corridors with housing; economic development outcomes and inventory of local development opportunities; high end housing and housing at all levels; presentation by Bruce Katz of Brookings Institute; Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy; housing purchasing data and census migration data; middle income, moderate income, and affordable housing categories; second homes, housing production cost presentation, work proximity down-payment program; county bond measures presentation.

Agenda Item 4a
Summary Minutes (Draft)
ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting
Friday, May 11, 2018
Page 3

## 6. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

# 7. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Rabbitt adjourned the meeting at about at 10:52 a.m.

The next meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee will be announced.

Submitted:
/s/ Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board
Date Submitted: June 5, 2018
Date Approved:
For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or fcastro@bayareametro.gov.

J:\COMMITTE\ABAG Administrative\Minutes\AC Minutes 20180511 Draft.docx