

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Jake Mackenzie, Chair Scott Haggerty, Vice Chair

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

9:40 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor

Call Meeting to Order

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 11 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce,

Commissioner Slocum, and Commissioner Worth

Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover,

Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Schaaf, and

Commissioner Spering

- 2. Chair's Report Mackenzie
- 3. Policy Advisory Council Report Randi Kinman
- 4. Executive Director's Report Heminger
- 5. Commissioner Comments
- 6. Consent Calendar:

Approval of the Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty and the second by Commissioner Pedroza, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Halsted,

Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce,

Commissioner Slocum and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 7 -Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover,

Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Schaaf and

Commissioner Spering

6a. 18-0009 Minutes of the December 20, 2017 Meeting

Action: Commission Approval

Programming and Allocations Committee

6b. <u>18-0020</u> MTC Resolution 3712, Revised. Revision to Regional Measure 2

allocation condition for Sonoma-Marin Area Rail Transit (SMART) for the

SMART Downtown San Rafael to Larkspur Extension.

Action: Commission Approval

6c. <u>17-3094</u> MTC Resolution Number 4202, Revised. Revisions to the One Bay Area

Grant 2 (OBAG 2) program, including programming \$13 million in

Innovative Deployments to Enhance Arterials (IDEA) grants and redirection

of \$4.1 million within the Transportation Management System (TMS)

program.

Action: Commission Approval

6d. 17-3095 MTC Resolution No. 4275, Revised. 2017 Transportation Improvement

Program (TIP) Amendment 2017-25.

Action: Commission Approval

Committee Reports

7. Legislation Committee

7a. 17-2997 2018 Final MTC / ABAG Joint Advocacy Program

Recommended state and federal legislative priorities for 2018.

Action: MTC Commission and ABAG Executive Board Approval

Upon the motion by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty and the second by Commissioner Pierce, the Commission unanimously adopted the 2018 Final MTC / ABAG Joint Advocacy Program. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce,

Commissioner Slocum and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 7 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover,

Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Schaaf and

Commissioner Spering

8. Planning Committee

8a. <u>17-3097</u> MTC Resolution No. 4316: Community-Based Transportation Planning (CBTP) Program Guidelines

Approval of MTC Resolution No. 4316 updates to program guidelines, first adopted per Resolution 3440 in 2002. Review of proposed distribution formula for Cycle 4 (2017-2021), which allocates \$1.5 million in funding to County Congestion Management Agencies (CMAs). Funding for the CBTP program is provided through the One Bay Area Grant Program (OBAG) 2.0.

Action: Commission Approval

Upon the motion by Commissioner Halsted and the second by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4316. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 7 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Schaaf and Commissioner Spering

9. Programming and Allocations

9a. <u>17-3037</u> MTC Resolution No. 4309. Lifeline Transportation Program Cycle 5 Guidelines

Proposed Lifeline Transportation Program Guidelines for Cycle 5, FY 2016 - 17 and FY 2017 - 18. Approximately \$22 million is estimated to be available to Congestion Management Agencies (CMAs) for programming. Funding for the Lifeline Transportation Program is provided through Federal 5307 and State Transit Assistance (STA) funds.

Action: Commission Approval

Carol Taylor was called to speak.

Gayle Eads, Andrew Robinson, and Ginny Browne of Genesis were called to speak.

Bob Allen of Urban Habitat was called to speak.

Lynsey Gaudioso of Public Advocates was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Josefowitz and the second by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4309. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 7 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Schaaf and Commissioner Spering

9b. <u>17-3096</u>

MTC Resolution Nos. 4317 and 4318. Adoption of Regional Program of Applications for three Senate Bill 1 (SB 1) Competitive Programs.

Recommended projects for regional application support or endorsements for SB 1 Solutions for Congested Corridors, Trade Corridor Enhancement Program, and Transit and Intercity Rail Capital Program.

Action: Commission Approval

Robin Sternberg, CEO of the Marin Economic Forum, was called to speak.

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

Joanne Webster, President and CEO of the San Rafael Chamber of Commerce, was called to speak.

Cynthia Murray, CEO of the North Bay Leadership Council, was called to speak.

David Schonbrunn was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Josefowitz and the second by Commissioner Pedroza, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution Nos. 4317 and 4318. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 7 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover,
Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Schaaf and
Commissioner Spering

10. Public Comment / Other Business

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

11. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next meeting of the Commission will be held on February 28, 2018 at 9:35 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105.

Jake Mackenzie, Chair	