## Agenda Item 3

## **SUMMARY MINUTES (DRAFT)**

ABAG Legislation and Governmental Organization Committee Meeting
Thursday, September 21, 2017
Bay Area Metro Center
375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

## 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG Legislation and Governmental Organization Committee Chair Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, called the meeting to order at about 4:00 p.m.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 4:00 p.m.

#### **Members Present**

Chair, Supervisor Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda—Chair David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara—*Ex officio*Dave Hudson, Vice Mayor, City of San Ramon
Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa
Julie Pierce, ABAG President and Councilmember, City of Clayton—*Ex officio*David Rabbitt, ABAG Vice President and Supervisor, County of Sonoma—*Ex officio*Greg Scharff, Mayor, City of Palo Alto

#### **Members Absent**

None.

#### **Staff Present**

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director
Alix Bockelman, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Policy
Andrew Fremier, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Operations
Cynthia Segal, MTC Legal Counsel
Rebecca Long, MTC Government Relations Manager
Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

#### 3. COMMITTEE ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no committee announcements.

ABAG President Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, recommended that the name of the ABAG Legislation and Governmental Organization Committee be changed to ABAG Legislation Committee. She will report the recommendation to the Executive Board and request their consent on the change.

# 4. APPROVAL OF ABAG LEGISLATION AND GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATION COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON JULY 20, 2017

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, which was seconded by Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, to approve the ABAG Legislation and Governmental Organization Committee summary minutes of the meeting on July 20, 2017.

There was no discussion.

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Haggerty, Cortese, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, and Scharff (6).

The nay votes were: None. The abstentions were: None. Absent were: Rabbitt (1) The motion passed.

#### 5. REPORT ON LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Rebecca Long, Government Relations Manager, gave an update on bills of interest to both the Metropolitan Transportation Commission and ABAG. She reported on the status of the cap and trade legislation. Members discussed SB 5 (De Leon), California Drought, Water, Parks, Climate, Coastal Protection, and Outdoor Access for All Act of 2018; and AB 71 (Chiu), Income taxes: credits: low-income housing: farmworker housing.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, which was seconded by Dave Hudson, Vice Mayor, City of San Ramon, to approve the staff report on legislative history.

There was no discussion.

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Haggerty, Cortese, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, Scharff (7).

The nay votes were: None. The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: None.

The motion passed unanimously.

### 6. REPORT ON HOUSING LEGISLATION

Georgia Gann Dohrmann, Associate Manager, Government Relations, gave a report on significant housing bills passed by the Legislature in 2017, including SB 2 (Atkins), SB 3 (Beall), SB 35 (Wiener), SB 540 (Roth), and AB 73 (Chiu).

Members discussed SB 3 (Beall), Veterans and Affordable Housing Bond Act of 2018; and SB 35 (Wiener), Planning and zoning: affordable housing: streamlined approval process.

#### 7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Haggerty adjourned the meeting of the Legislation and Governmental Organization Committee at about 4:56 p.m.

The next regular meeting of the ABAG Legislation and Governmental Organization Committee is on November 16, 2017.

#### Submitted:

/s/ Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board

Date Submitted: October 25, 2017 Date Approved:

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or fcastro@bayareametro.gov.