# SUMMARY MINUTES (DRAFT)

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, April 22, 2016 Joseph P. Bort MetroCenter 101 8<sup>th</sup> Street, Oakland, California

## 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the special meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 9:05 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 9:15 a.m.

#### **Members Present**

Councilmember Julie Pierce, City of Clayton Supervisor Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara Mayor Pat Eklund, City of Novato Vice Mayor Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco Supervisor Scott Haggerty, County of Alameda Mayor Bill Harrison, City of Fremont Supervisor Mark Luce, County of Napa Vice Mayor Greg Scharff, City of Palo Alto

## Members Absent

Supervisor Eric Mar, City and County of San Francisco Councilmember Raul Peralez, City of San Jose Supervisor Dave Pine, County of San Mateo (Alternate) Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma

#### Staff Present

Ezra Rapport, ABAG Executive Director Brad Paul, ABAG Deputy Executive Director

## 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### 3. MTC COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

#### 4. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

## 5. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

#### A. MTC Planning Committee Minutes of the March 25, 2016 Meeting

MTC Planning Committee approved its minutes of the March 25, 2016 meeting.

The Committee next took up Item 7.

# 6. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON MARCH 25, 2016

President Pierce recognized a motion by Pat Eklund, Mayor, City of Novato, which was seconded by Mark Luce, Supervisor, County of Napa, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of March 25, 2016.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Harrison, Luce, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Mar, Peralez, Pine, Rabbitt.

The motion passed unanimously.

# 7. ABAG/MTC MERGER STUDY—MANAGEMENT PARTNERS

Andy Belknap, Regional Vice President; Lynn Dantzker, Partner; Dan Marks, Special Advisor; and Bob Leland, Special Advisor, Management Partners, assisted by Brittany Gabel, Senior Management Advisor, Management Partners, reported on the ABAG/MTC merger study options analysis and recommendation.

Members discussed the proposed merger study options analysis and recommendation; consolidation of staff functions; pursuing a new governance structure; conducting a financial analysis of ABAG and MTC.

The following individuals gave public comment: Assemblymember Tony Thurmond; Rebecca Kaplan, Oakland City Council; Egon Terplan, SPUR; Leah Zippert, ABAG staff; Cynthia Kroll, ABAG staff; Jennifer Krebs, ABAG staff and SEIU; Ken Bukowski; James Muller, ABAG staff and SEIU 1021; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; Linda Craig, President of the League of Women Voters of the Bay Area; Matt Regan, Bay Area Council; and David Schonbrunn, TRANSDEF.

President Pierce recognized a motion by Mark Luce, Supervisor, County of Napa, which was seconded by Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto, to recommend Option 7 for adoption by the ABAG Executive Board.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Gupta, Haggerty, Harrison, Luce, Scharff.

The nays were: Eklund.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Mar, Peralez, Pine, Rabbitt.

The motion passed.

#### 8. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

#### 9. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

The meeting adjourned at about 12:32 p.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee on the ABAG/MTC Merger Study will be held on May 27, 2016, 9:00 a.m., Joseph P. Bort MetroCenter, 101 8<sup>th</sup> Street, Lawrence D. Dahms Auditorium, Oakland. Submitted:

/s/ Ezra Rapport, Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: May 17, 2016 Date Approved:

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (510) 464 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.

# SUMMARY MINUTES (DRAFT)

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, April 29, 2016 Association of Bay Area Governments 101 8<sup>th</sup> Street, Oakland, California

## 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the special meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 3:00 p.m.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 3:00 p.m.

#### **Members Present**

Councilmember Julie Pierce, City of Clayton Supervisor Scott Haggerty, County of Alameda

#### **Members Present by Teleconference**

Supervisor Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara Mayor Pat Eklund, City of Novato Vice Mayor Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco Supervisor Mark Luce, County of Napa Supervisor Eric Mar, City and County of San Francisco Vice Mayor Greg Scharff, City of Palo Alto

#### **Members Absent**

Mayor Bill Harrison, City of Fremont Councilmember Raul Peralez, City of San Jose Supervisor Dave Pine, County of San Mateo (Alternate) Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma

#### Staff Present

Ezra Rapport, ABAG Executive Director Brad Paul, ABAG Deputy Executive Director Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENT

The following individuals gave public comment: Zelda Bronstein; Ken Bukowski.

#### 3. REPORT ON ABAG/MTC MERGER STUDY

There was no report.

#### 4. PETITION FOR SPECIAL MEETING OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Pat Eklund, Mayor, City of Novato, presented petitions calling for a special meeting of the General Assembly calling for a discussion of the options analysis and recommendation by Management Partners and other alternatives presented by any General Assembly delegate, a vote on the proposed options or alternatives; and a vote on ABAG Resolution 12-15.

Ezra Rapport, Executive Director, and Kenneth Moy, Legal Counsel, both reported on petitions requesting a special meeting of the General Assembly on May 12 and consideration of calling, and setting the agenda for, a special meeting of the General Assembly.

Members discussed calling a special meeting of the General Assembly; options analysis and recommendation by Management Partners; ABAG Resolution No. 12-15 and MTC Resolution 4210; the merger study process; actions taken by the MTC Planning Committee and ABAG Administrative Committee on April 22.

The following individuals gave public comment: Revan Tranter.

President Pierce recognized a motion by Dave Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara, which was seconded by Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto, to delegate to the ABAG President the preparation of the agenda for the special meeting of the General Assembly.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Gupta, Haggerty, Luce, Mar, Scharff.

The nays were: Eklund.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Harrison, Peralez, Pine, Rabbitt.

The motion passed.

President Pierce recognized a motion by Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, which was seconded by Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto, to call a special meeting of the General Assembly for May 19, 2016, 12:00 p.m., at a location to be determined.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Luce, Mar, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Harrison, Peralez, Pine, Rabbitt.

The motion passed.

#### 5. ADJOURNMENT

There was no public comment.

#### 6. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

The meeting adjourned at about 3:58 p.m.

Submitted:

/s/ Ezra Rapport, Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: May 17, 2016 Date Approved:

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (510) 464 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.