SUMMARY MINUTES (DRAFT)

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, January 8, 2018 Joseph P. Bort MetroCenter 101 8th Street, Oakland, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the special meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 11:09 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 11:09 a.m.

Members Present

Councilmember Julie Pierce, City of Clayton

Supervisor Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara

Mayor Pat Eklund, City of Novato

Councilmember Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco

Supervisor Scott Haggerty, County of Alameda

Mayor Bill Harrison, City of Fremont

Supervisor Eric Mar, City and County of San Francisco

Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma

Members Absent

Supervisor Mark Luce, County of Napa Supervisor Dave Pine, County of San Mateo (Alternate)

Staff Present

Ezra Rapport, ABAG Executive Director Brad Paul, ABAG Deputy Executive Director Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director

2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

3. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. MTC Planning Committee Minutes of the December 11, 2015 Meeting

MTC Planning Committee approved its minutes of the December 11, 2015 meeting.

4. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON DECEMBER 11, 2015

President Pierce recognized a motion by Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, which was seconded by Pat Eklund, Mayor, City of Novato, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of December 11, 2015.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Harrison, Mar, Rabbitt.

The nays were: None. The abstentions were: None. The absences were: Luce, Pine (Alternate). The motion passed unanimously.

5. ABAG/MTC MERGER STUDY

Andy Belknap, Dan Marks, and Lynn Dantzker, Management Partners, introduced themselves and gave an overview of preliminary approach to the work plan, and led discussion of proposed January 22, 2016 facilitated work session.

Members discussed the joint committees meeting schedule; order of tasks and financial analysis; local community engagement; public outreach meetings; elected officials survey; comprehensive report; identifying the problem to solve; collaboration and structural change, consensus building, list of principles, development of alternatives, models of collaboration; full merger of two agencies; timeline, public policy mediation, public participation; developing options in addition to full merger, establishing status quo benchmark; establishing guidelines, including accountability, transparency, community engagement; functional integration of land use and transportation planning; analysis of five year budget for ABAG and MTC, sustainable business plan; establish baseline of agencies; agency performance; planning consolidation and agency structure; MTC Resolution 4210 requirement to look at merger.

The following individuals gave public comment: David Schonbrunn of TRANSDEF; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; Ken Bukowski; Egon Terplan, SPUR; Dana MacPherson, SEIU 1021; Lee Huo, President, ABAG Chapter, SEIU 1021.

Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director, and Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director, commented on ABAG and MTC staff collaboration on Plan Bay Area.

6. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

7. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

The meeting adjourned at about 12:12 p.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee on the ABAG/MTC Merger Study will be on January 22, 2016, 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m., Joseph P. Bort MetroCenter, 101 8th Street, Lawrence D. Dahms Auditorium, Oakland.

Submitted:

/s/ Ezra Rapport, Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: January 14, 2016 Date Approved: TBD For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (510) 464 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.