

Meeting Minutes - Draft

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Executive Board

Thursday, May 19, 2022

5:10 PM

REMOTE (In person option available)

Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board Meeting No. 472

The ABAG Executive Board may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 5:10p.m., or after the preceding ACFA meeting.

Agenda, roster and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Susan Adams, Candace Andersen, Jesse Arreguin, Nikki Fortunato Bas, London Breed, Tom Butt, David Canepa, Pat Eklund, Susan Ellenberg, Maya Esparza, Carroll Fife, Neysa Fligor, Leon Garcia, Liz Gibbons, Giselle Hale, Barbara Halliday, David Haubert, Rich Hillis, Dave Hudson, Otto Lee, Matthew Mahan, Rafael Mandelman, Gordon Mar, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Raul Peralez, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Carlos Romero, James Spering, Loren Taylor, Steve Young

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Vice President Ramos called the meeting to order at about 5:17 p.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 22 - Andersen, Brown, Butt, Eklund, Ellenberg, Esparza, Fligor, Garcia, Foley, Hale, Halliday, Haubert, Hudson, Hollingsworth-Adams, Lee, Miley, Martinez-Beltran,

Mitchoff, Rabbitt, Ramos, Romero, and Young

Absent: 11 - Arreguin, Bas, Breed, Canepa, Fife, Hillis, Mandelman, Mar, Moulton-Peters, Peralez, and Taylor

- 2. Public Comment
- 3. Executive Board Announcements
- 4. President's Report
- **4.a.** 22-0791 ABAG President's Report for May 19, 2022

Vice President Ramos gave the report.

5. Executive Director's Report

ABAG Executive Board May 19, 2022

5.a. 22-0792 Executive Director's Report for May 19, 2022

Therese W. McMillan gave the report.

6. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Romero, the ABAG Executive Board approved the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 19 - Andersen, Brown, Butt, Eklund, Ellenberg, Esparza, Foley, Hale, Halliday, Haubert, Hudson, Hollingsworth-Adams, Lee, Martinez-Beltran, Mitchoff, Rabbitt, Ramos, Romero, and Young

Absent: 14 - Arreguin, Bas, Breed, Canepa, Fife, Fligor, Garcia, Hillis, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Moulton-Peters, Peralez, and Taylor

- **6.a.** 22-0793 Approval of ABAG Executive Board Minutes of April 8, 2022 and April 21, 2022
- 6.b. 22-0794 Adoption of Resolution No. 09-2022 Regarding Remote Meetings Pursuant to Assembly Bill 361
- Adoption of Resolution No. 10-2022 authorizing to submit an application and execute an agreement with the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways on behalf of the San Francisco Estuary Partnership's Clean Vessel Act Program in an amount not to exceed \$450,000
- 6.d. 22-0840 Authorization to issue and administer three Contract Agreements under the Bay Trail Grant Program to local partners with funds received from the State Coastal Conservancy's Bay Trail Block Grant #6 funds for a total contracted amount of \$840.000
- 6.e. 22-0841 Authorization to amend a Bay Area Regional Energy Network (BayREN)
 Contract with BluePoint Planning LLC in an amount not to exceed \$50,000 for services for BayREN communications through December 31, 2022
- 6.f. 22-0842 Authorization to amend a Bay Area Regional Energy Network (BayREN)
 Contract with Frontier Energy Inc. in an amount not to exceed \$90,000 for services for BayREN technical and regulatory reporting functions through December 31, 2022

7. ABAG Administrative Committee

7.a. 22-0795 Report on ABAG Administrative Committee Meeting of May 13, 2022Vice President Ramos gave the report.

Page 2 Printed on 6/1/2022

ABAG Executive Board May 19, 2022

8. ABAG Finance Committee

8.a. 22-0796 Report on ABAG Finance Committee Meeting of May 19, 2022

Karen Mitchoff gave the report.

8.b. <u>22-0797</u> Confirmation of the Election of ABAG Finance Committee Chair and Vice

Chair

Upon the motion by Rabbitt and second by Ramos, the ABAG Executive Board confirmed the election of Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, as Chair. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 21 - Andersen, Brown, Butt, Eklund, Ellenberg, Esparza, Garcia, Foley, Hale, Halliday, Haubert, Hudson, Hollingsworth-Adams, Lee, Miley, Martinez-Beltran, Mitchoff, Rabbitt, Ramos, Romero, and Young

Absent: 12 - Arreguin, Bas, Breed, Canepa, Fife, Fligor, Hillis, Mandelman, Mar, Moulton-Peters, Peralez, and Taylor

9. Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

9.a. 22-0798 Report on Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting of May 13, 2022

Vice President Ramos gave the report.

9.b. Assembly Constitutional Amendment 14 (Wicks) - Housing Opportunities for Everyone (HOpE) Act

Requires a transfer of 5 percent of General Fund revenues for that fiscal year from FY 2024-25 fiscal year through FY 2022-23 related to homelessness and affordable housing, including housing and services to prevent and end homelessness.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Esparza. the ABAG Executive Board approved a support position on Assembly Constitutional Amendment 14 (Wicks). The motion passed unanimously by the following vote

Aye: 21 - Andersen, Brown, Butt, Eklund, Ellenberg, Esparza, Garcia, Foley, Hale, Halliday, Haubert, Hudson, Hollingsworth-Adams, Lee, Miley, Martinez-Beltran, Mitchoff, Rabbitt, Ramos, Romero, and Young

Absent: 12 - Arreguin, Bas, Breed, Canepa, Fife, Fligor, Hillis, Mandelman, Mar, Moulton-Peters, Peralez, and Taylor

10. ABAG Housing Committee

Page 3 Printed on 6/1/2022

ABAG Executive Board May 19, 2022

10.a. 22-0799 Report on ABAG Housing Committee Meeting of April 14, 2022 and May 12, 2022

Carlos Romero gave the report.

10.b. 22-0800 Confirmation of the Election of ABAG Housing Committee Chair and Vice

Chair

Upon the motion by Ramos and second by Mitchoff, the ABAG Executive Board confirmed the election of Carlos Romero, Councilmember, City of East Palo Alto, as Chair and Neysa Fligor, Councilmember, City of Los Altos, as Vice Chair. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 20 - Andersen, Brown, Butt, Eklund, Ellenberg, Esparza, Garcia, Foley, Halliday, Haubert, Hudson, Hollingsworth-Adams, Lee, Miley, Martinez-Beltran, Mitchoff, Rabbitt, Ramos, Romero, and Young

Absent: 13 - Arreguin, Bas, Breed, Canepa, Fife, Fligor, Hale, Hillis, Mandelman, Mar, Moulton-Peters, Peralez, and Taylor

11. ABAG MTC Technical Assistance Portal

11.a. 22-0839 Presentation on ABAG/MTC's Technical Assistance Portal

Krute Singa gave the report.

12. Bay Regional Energy Network (BayREN)

12.a. 22-0881 Report on BayREN Business Plan Update/Overview including how to make

a just, thoughtful transition to electrification

Jenny Berg and Ryan Jacoby gave the report.

13. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Vice President Ramos adjourned the meeting at about 6:37 p.m. The next special meeting of the ABAG Executive Board is on June 16, 2022. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Executive Board is on July 21, 2022.

Page 4 Printed on 6/1/2022