

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Agenda

Legislation Committee

Committee Members:

Alicia C. Aguirre, Chair Sam Liccardo, Vice Chair

Damon Connolly, Dave Cortese, Anne W. Halsted, Julie Pierce, James P. Spering Non-Voting Members: Tom Azumbrado, Dorene M. Giacopini

Friday, May 12, 2017 9:35 AM Board Room - 1st Floor

This meeting is scheduled to be webcast live on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission's Web site: http://mtc.ca.gov/whats-happening/meetings and will take place at 9:35 a.m. or immediately following the 9:30 a.m. Operations Committee meeting.

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Quorum: A quorum of this committee shall be a majority of its regular voting members (4).

2. Consent Calendar

2a. <u>17-2477</u> Minutes of April 14, 2017 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

Attachments: 2a Minutes Apr 2017.pdf

2b. <u>17-2478</u> Legislative History

<u>Action:</u> Information

<u>Presenter:</u> Rebecca Long

<u>Attachments:</u> 2b May Leg History.pdf

3. Approval

3a. <u>17-2479</u> MTC and ABAG Housing Principles

Proposed joint guidelines which will inform MTC and ABAG evaluation

and advocacy around state and federal housing proposals.

Action: Support / Commission Approval

<u>Presenter:</u> Rebecca Long

<u>Attachments:</u> 3a_MTC and ABAG Housing Principles.pdf

Page 1 Printed on 5/12/2017

4. State Legislation

4a. <u>17-2480</u> Regional Measure 3 Update

Information on a proposed ballot measure under which voters could consider a bridge toll increase to fund congestion-relief projects and

improve mobility in the bridge corridors.

Action: Information

Presenter: Rebecca Long

<u>Attachments:</u> 4a RM3 Update.pdf

4b. <u>17-2549</u> AB 686 (Santiago): Housing Discrimination - Affirmatively Further Fair

Housing

Adds a requirement to the Sustainable Communities Strategy requiring

that it identify specific actions to affirmatively further fair housing.

Action: Oppose Unless Amended / Commission Approval

<u>Presenter:</u> Georgia Gann Dohrmann

<u>Attachments:</u> 4b AB 686 (Santiago) Oppose Unless Amended.pdf

4c. <u>17-2582</u> SB 768 (Allen / Wiener): Renewal of Public-Private Partnership (P3)

Authority

Revives a law that expired in 2016 authorizing Caltrans and regional transportation agencies to enter into public-private partnerships or "P3s."

<u>Action:</u> Support / Commission Approval

<u>Presenter:</u> Rebecca Long

Attachments: 4c SB 768 Support.pdf

4d. <u>17-2595</u> May Revise of FY 2017-18 State Budget

Information on the Governors May revision to the FY 2017-18 State

Budget.

Action: Information

Presenter: Rebecca Long

<u>Attachments:</u> 4d MayRevise Handout.pdf

5. Federal Legislation

5a. <u>17-2583</u> Transportation, Housing and Urban Development Appropriations Bill, FY

2017

Summary of FY 2016 and FY 2017 federal funding levels for select

surface transportation and housing programs.

Action: Information

<u>Presenter:</u> Randy Rentschler

<u>Attachments:</u> 5a 2017 THUD.pdf

5b. <u>17-2481</u> Tom Bulger's Report

Report from MTC's advocate in Washington D.C.

Action: Information

<u>Presenter:</u> Randy Rentschler

Attachments: 5b Tom Bulger's DC Report Apr 2017.pdf

6. Information

6a. <u>17-2539</u> Policy Advisory Council - 2017 Recruitment

Recruitment efforts and selection schedule for MTC's Policy Advisory

Council.

Action: Information
Presenter: Pam Grove

<u>Attachments:</u> 6a Policy Advisory Council – 2017 Recruitment.pdf

- 7. Public Comment / Other Business
- 8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Legislation Committee will be June 9, 2017, 9:40 a.m. the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA.

Public Comment: The public is encouraged to comment on agenda items at Committee meetings by completing a request-to-speak card (available from staff) and passing it to the Committee secretary. Public comment may be limited by any of the procedures set forth in Section 3.09 of MTC's Procedures Manual (Resolution No. 1058, Revised) if, in the chair's judgment, it is necessary to maintain the orderly flow of business.

Meeting Conduct: If this meeting is willfully interrupted or disrupted by one or more persons rendering orderly conduct of the meeting unfeasible, the Chair may order the removal of individuals who are willfully disrupting the meeting. Such individuals may be arrested. If order cannot be restored by such removal, the members of the Committee may direct that the meeting room be cleared (except for representatives of the press or other news media not participating in the disturbance), and the session may continue.

Record of Meeting: Committee meetings are recorded. Copies of recordings are available at a nominal charge, or recordings may be listened to at MTC offices by appointment. Audiocasts are maintained on MTC's Web site (mtc.ca.gov) for public review for at least one year.

Accessibility and Title VI: MTC provides services/accommodations upon request to persons with disabilities and individuals who are limited-English proficient who wish to address Commission matters. For accommodations or translations assistance, please call 415.778.6757 or 415.778.6769 for TDD/TTY. We require three working days' notice to accommodate your request.

可及性和法令第六章: MTC 根據要求向希望來委員會討論有關事宜的殘疾人士及英語有限者提供服務/方便。需要便利設施或翻譯協助者,請致電 415.778.6757 或 415.778.6769 TDD / TTY。我們要求您在三個工作日前告知,以滿足您的要求。

Acceso y el Titulo VI: La MTC puede proveer asistencia/facilitar la comunicación a las personas discapacitadas y los individuos con conocimiento limitado del inglés quienes quieran dirigirse a la Comisión. Para solicitar asistencia, por favor llame al número 415.778.6757 o al 415.778.6769 para TDD/TTY. Requerimos que solicite asistencia con tres días hábiles de anticipación para poderle proveer asistencia.

Attachments are sent to Committee members, key staff and others as appropriate. Copies will be available at the meeting.

All items on the agenda are subject to action and/or change by the Committee. Actions recommended by staff are subject to change by the Committee.

MTC's Chair and Vice-Chair are ex-officio voting members of all standing Committees.