

**Meeting Minutes - Final** 

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

# **ABAG Executive Board**

President, Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa Vice President, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley Immediate Pst Prs, David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma

Thursday, July 18, 2024 5:10 PM Board Room - 1st Floor

### Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board Meeting No. 496

#### Roster

Susan Hollingsworth Adams, Candace Andersen, Jesse Arreguin, Nikki Fortunato Bas, London Breed, Ken Carlson, David Cohen, Noelia Corzo, Pat Eklund, Susan Ellenberg, Carroll Fife, Neysa Fligor, Leon Garcia, Rich Hillis, Rosemary Kamei, Otto Lee, Rafael Mandelman, Elisa Marquez, Yvonne Martinez-Beltran, Nathan Miley, Lisa Motoyama, Catherine Moy, Ray Mueller, Mark Nagales, Peter Ortiz, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Treva Reid, Carlos Romero, Mary Sackett, Cindy Silva, Aaron Tiedemann, Wanda Williams. Donald Young (Advisory)

# 1. Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Member Nikki Fortunato Bas, arrived during Agenda Item 2. Public Comment. Member Yvonne Martinez-Beltran arrived at 5:45 p.m.

- Present: 21 Hollingsworth-Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Carlson, Corzo, Eklund, Fligor, Martinez-Beltran, Moy, Rabbitt, Romero, Sackett, Silva, Tiedemann, Williams, Gluckstein, Tanner, Toms, Jimenez, and Hedges
- **Absent:** 17 Breed, Cohen, Ellenberg, Fife, Garcia, Hillis, Kamei, Lee, Mandelman, Marquez, Miley, Motoyama, Mueller, Nagales, Ortiz, Ramos, and Reid
- 2. Public Comment

The following individuals spoke on this Item: Ken Bukowski

- 3. Executive Board Announcements
- 4. President's Report

ABAG Executive Board July 18, 2024

## 5. Executive Director's Report

**5a.** <u>24-0862</u> Executive Director's Report for July 18, 2024

### 6. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Eklund and seconded by Hedges, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 20 - Hollingsworth-Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Carlson, Corzo, Eklund, Fligor, Moy, Rabbitt, Romero, Sackett, Silva, Tiedemann, Williams, Gluckstein, Tanner, Toms, Jimenez, and Hedges

**Absent:** 18 - Breed, Cohen, Ellenberg, Fife, Garcia, Hillis, Kamei, Lee, Mandelman, Marquez, Martinez-Beltran, Miley, Motoyama, Mueller, Nagales, Ortiz, Ramos, and Reid

- **6a.** 24-0863 Approval of ABAG Executive Board Minutes of May 16, 2024
- **6b.** 24-0870 Authorization to negotiate and enter into a contract with The Energy Coalition in an amount not to exceed \$267,730 to support the development and implementation of BayREN's Energy Concierge service
- Authorization to amend a funding agreement with Friends of the San Francisco Estuary to support emerging leaders in the environmental field, including women, LGBTQI people, and youth for the period from August 1, 2022 to December 31, 2027, extending the funding amount of \$300,000 to \$800,000
- Authorization to negotiate and enter into a contract with The Energy
  Coalition in an amount not to exceed \$339,806 to provide Decarbonization
  Showcase Management services for BayREN's Targeted Decarbonization
  Services Program through December 31, 2025
- Grant Program funded by the State of California Department of Water Resources (DWR), request for authorization to enter into Individual Funding Agreements with the following Local Project Sponsors (LPSs): Contra Costa Resource Conservation District (\$2,717,138); San Francisquito Creek Joint Powers Authority (\$5,955,258); San Mateo Resource Conservation District (\$5,905,974), and the Zone 7 Water Agency (\$1,226,170)

# 7. ABAG Administrative Committee Report

**7a.** 24-0864 Report on ABAG Administrative Committee Meetings of June 14, 2024 and July 12, 2024

Page 2 Printed on 11/15/2024

ABAG Executive Board July 18, 2024

**7b.** 24-0873

Authorize the Executive Director or designee to enter into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the four voting member agencies and the three non-voting partner agencies of the Bay Area Regional Collaborative (BARC) to coordinate efforts to address the threats of flooding and sea level rise in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Upon the motion by Eklund and seconded by Hedges, Agenda Item 7b. was approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 20 - Hollingsworth-Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Carlson, Corzo, Eklund, Martinez-Beltran, Moy, Rabbitt, Romero, Sackett, Silva, Tiedemann, Williams, Gluckstein, Tanner, Toms, Jimenez, and Hedges

**Absent:** 18 - Breed, Cohen, Ellenberg, Fife, Fligor, Garcia, Hillis, Kamei, Lee, Mandelman, Marquez, Miley, Motoyama, Mueller, Nagales, Ortiz, Ramos, and Reid

#### 8. Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Report

**8a.** 24-0865 Report on Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Meetings of June 14, 2024 and July 12, 2024

**8b.** 24-0906 Assembly Bill 598 (Wicks): Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA) Funding

Upon the motion by Carlson and seconded by Hedges, Agenda Item 8b was approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 21 - Hollingsworth-Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Carlson, Corzo, Eklund, Fligor, Martinez-Beltran, Moy, Rabbitt, Romero, Sackett, Silva, Tiedemann, Williams, Gluckstein, Tanner, Toms, Jimenez, and Hedges

**Absent:** 17 - Breed, Cohen, Ellenberg, Fife, Garcia, Hillis, Kamei, Lee, Mandelman, Marquez, Miley, Motoyama, Mueller, Nagales, Ortiz, Ramos, and Reid

#### 9. Plan Bay Area 2050+ Draft Blueprint

**9a.** 24-0868 Presentation and Update on Plan Bay Area 2050+, including draft Blueprint strategies and key performance and equity findings, prior to late summer

2024 public and stakeholder engagement

The following individuals spoke on this Item:

Ken Bukowski

#### 10. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next regular meeting of the ABAG Executive Board is on September 19, 2024.