

Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Alfredo Pedroza, Chair Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair

	D	~ ~	
Monday,	December	9, 2	2024

2:05 PM

Board Room - 1st Floor

Special Meeting

Roster

Alfredo Pedroza (Chair), Nick Josefowitz (Vice Chair), Margaret Abe-Koga, Eddie Ahn, David Canepa, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Dina El-Tawansy*, Victoria Fleming, Dorene M. Giacopini*, Federal D. Glover, Rebecca Kaplan, Matt Mahan, Nate Miley, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, Gina Papan, David Rabbitt, Hillary Ronen, Libby Schaaf*, James P. Spering, Vacant *Non-Voting Members

Chair Pedroza called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

- Present: 16 Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 1 Commissioner Ronen

Commissioner Fleming and Commissioner Mahan arrived during agenda item 4a

Vice Chair Josefowitz arrived during agenda item 5.

Non-Voting Commissioners Present: Commissioner El-Tawansy, Commissioner Giacopini and Commissioner Schaaf

2. Pledge of Allegiance / Acknowledgement of the Flag

3. Compensation Announcement (Clerk)

4. Chair's Report

- 4a.24-1505MTC Resolution No. 4679. Resolution of Appreciation for Commissioner
Dutra-Vernaci on the occasion of her departure from MTC.
 - Action: Commission Approval

Commissioner Fleming and Commissioner Mahan arrived during agenda item 4a.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and seconded by Commissioner Noack, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4679. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 15 Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 2 Vice Chair Josefowitz and Commissioner Ronen

5. Commissioner Comments

6. Commission Approval

6a. <u>24-1506</u> Draft Report to the Legislature on Transportation Revenue Measure Select Committee

Presentation of draft report to the Legislature summarizing the work of the Select Committee.

Action: Information

Presenter: Andrew Fremier

6b. <u>24-1604</u> Endorsement of Proposed Transportation Revenue Measure Frameworks and Policy Provisions for Polling

Staff will seek approval to poll proposed transportation revenue measure frameworks and policy provisions, and outline next steps.

- Action: Commission Approval
- Presenter: Alix Bockelman

Written correspondence was received from Joint Letter from Bay Area Council, CA Alliance for Jobs, SPUR; Robert Powers (BART); Barbara Jue; Adam Rak (C/CAG); Michael Hursh (AC Transit); April Chan (SamTrans); Voices for Public Transportation; Collin Thoma (Disability Services Legal Center); Tilly Chang (SFCTA); and Joint Labor Coalition.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Mike Hursh (AC Transit); Adina Levin (Policy Advisory Council); Cyrus Hall; Abi Rahman-Davies; Mary Lim (Genesis VPT); Claudine Tong (Genesis); Sarah Blain (Genesis VPT); Jonathan Cole (Climate Action California); Manny Leon (California Alliance for Jobs); Sara Greenwald (350 BA); Vallery Lancey; Warren Cushman; Emily Wheeler (Public Advocates); Noel Catasikas (Public Advocates Transit Department); Anthony (Transbay Coalition); Collin Thoma (Disability Services Legal Center); Sophia DeWitt (East Bay Housing); Marjorie Alvord (Genesis); Michaela Wright Petrik; Harry Neil; Aleta Dupree (Team Folds); Zach Lipton; Wendi Kallins (Policy Advisory Council); Erin; Aidan Jones; Carter Lavin; Cody Vaughn; Bob Allen (Urban Habitat); Pamela Campos (Policy Advisory Council); Susannah Parson (All Home); Howard Wong; Peter VanDyke; Peter Strauss; Ian Griffiths; Alexander Maldonado; Bryan Culbertson; Carol Taylor; Adrian Brandt; Geoff Smith; Franz; Jeremy Levine; and Jordan Grimes.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and seconded by Commissioner Canepa, the Commission endorsed key policy provisions and to include questions related to them in coordinated polling and to return to the Commission in February with the polling results. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 15 Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Rabbitt and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 1 Commissioner Ronen
- Abstain: 1 Commissioner Papan

7. Public Comment / Other Business

Written correspondence was received from Carol Dutra-Vernaci (Union City Mayor).

25-0035 Public Comment

8. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next regular meeting of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission is scheduled to be held at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco on Wednesday, December 18, 2024.