

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California

ABAG Housing Methodology Committee

Chair, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley

Thursday, July 9, 2020 2:00 PM Remote

Association of Bay Area Governments Housing Methodology Committee

The ABAG Housing Methodology Committee may act on any item on the agenda. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 2:00 p.m. Agenda and roster available at https://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Josh Abrams, Susan Adams, Anita Addison, Jesse Arreguin, Rupinder Bolaria, Rick Bonilla, Michael Brilliot, Monica Brown, Amanda Brown-Stevens, Paul Campos, Ellen Clark, Diane Dillon, Forrest Ebbs, Pat Eklund, Jonathan Fearn, Victoria Fierce, Neysa Fligor, Mindy Gentry, Russell Hancock, Welton Jordan, Brandon Kline, Jeffrey Levin, Scott Littlehale, Tawny Macedo, Fernando Marti, Rodney Nickens, Jr., James Pappas, Julie Pierce, Bob Planthold, Darin Ranelletti, Matt Regan, Jane Riley, Carlos Romero, Elise Semonian, Aarti Shrivastava, Vin Smith. Matt Walsh

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 2:04 p.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 29 - Abrams, Addison, Arreguin, Bonilla, Brilliot, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Clark, Dillon, Eklund, Fearn, Fierce, Fligor, Gentry, Jordan, Levin, Macedo, Marti, Nickens, Pappas, Pierce, Planthold, Ranelletti, Riley, Romero, Semonian, Shrivastava, and

Absent: 8 - Adams, Bolaria-Shifrin, Ebbs, Hancock, Kline, Littlehale, Regan, and Smith

2. Public Comment

The following gave public comment: Steven Buss; Kyle Kelley.

The following submitted public comment: Tom Dubois, Eric Filseth, Lydia Kou; Suzanne Keehn; Hunter Oatman-Stanford; Charlie Stigler; Julia Berg; Brian Bills; Rachael Byrne; Cupertino for All; Dan Kempay; David Maltzan; Chris Peacock.

> Printed on 8/5/2020 Page 1

3. Chair's Report

3.a. 20-0988 ABAG Housing Methodology Committee Chair's Report of July 9, 2020

Chair Arreguin gave the report.

4. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Bonilla and second by Fierce, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 27 - Abrams, Addison, Arreguin, Bonilla, Brilliot, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Clark, Dillon, Eklund, Fierce, Fligor, Gentry, Jordan, Levin, Macedo, Marti, Nickens, Pappas, Pierce, Ranelletti, Riley, Romero, Semonian, Shrivastava, and Walsh

Absent: 10 - Adams, Bolaria-Shifrin, Ebbs, Fearn, Hancock, Kline, Littlehale, Planthold, Regan, and Smith

4.a. 20-0989 Approval of ABAG Housing Methodology Committee Minutes of June 19, 2020

5. Plan Bay Area 2050

5.a. 20-0985 Plan Bay Area 2050 Draft Blueprint: Key Findings

Presentation on the findings from the Draft Blueprint analysis, highlighting successes and shortcomings in advance of stakeholder workshops later this month.

Dave Vautin gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Noah Housh; Alfred Twu.

6. RHNA Methodology Concepts

6.a. 20-0987 Plan Bay Area 2050 and RHNA Methodology

Consideration of Incorporating Plan Bay Area 2050 Draft Blueprint in the RHNA Methodology

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Aaron Eckhouse; Shajuti Hossain; Auros Harman; Robert Fruchtman; Steven Buss; Ira Kaplan; Sonja Trauss; Sara Olgivie; Darrell Owens; Marcus Helmer; Lucia Sanchez; Jordan Grimes.

The following submitted public comment: William Goodwin.

6.b. 20-0986 RHNA Income Allocation

Further Discussion of the Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Income Allocation Methodology

Eli Kaplan gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Aaron Eckhouse; Steven Buss; Noah Housh; Robert Fruchtman; Anna Driscoll; Sidharth Kapur; Sam Deutsch; Kyle Kelley.

7. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 5:20 p.m. The next special meeting of the ABAG Housing Methodology Committee is on August 13, 2020.