

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes

Bay Area Toll Authority

| Alfredo Pedroza, Chair | Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair | |
|------------------------|-----------------------------|--|
| | | |

| Wednesday, December 18, 2024 9:35 AM | Yerba Buena Conference Room – 1st Floor |
|--------------------------------------|---|
|--------------------------------------|---|

Roster

Alfredo Pedroza (Chair), Nick Josefowitz (Vice Chair), Margaret Abe-Koga, Eddie Ahn, Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, David Canepa, Dina El-Tawansy*, Victoria Fleming, Dorene M. Giacopini*, Federal D. Glover, Rebecca Kaplan, Matt Mahan, Nate Miley, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, Gina Papan, David Rabbitt, Hillary Ronen, Libby Schaaf*, James P. Spering, Vacant *Non-Voting Members

Chair Pedroza called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m.

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum / Pledge of Allegiance / Compensation Announcement

Present: 14 - Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Ashcraft

Absent: 3 - Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Canepa and Commissioner Rabbitt

Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Miley, and Commissioner Ronen arrived during agenda item 4a.

Non-Voting Commissioners Present: Commissioner Schaaf Non-Voting Commissioners Absent: Commissioner El-Tawansy, and Commissioner Giacopini

2. Chair's Report

3. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and seconded by Commissioner Noack, the Authority unanimously approved the Consent Calendar by the following vote:

- Aye: 11 Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Ashcraft, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Papan and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 6 Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Rabbitt and Commissioner Ronen

- 3a.
 24-1571
 Approval of the Authority Minutes of the November 20, 2024 Meeting

 Action:
 Authority Approval
- **3b.** <u>24-1573</u> BATA Resolution No. 182. Regional Measure 3 Richmond-San Rafael Bridge Access Improvements: Sponsor Agency Resolution of Project Compliance - Allocation Request

Action: Authority Approval

Presenter: Michelle Go

3c.24-1574BATA Resolution No. 181. Regional Measure 3 (RM 3) Dumbarton
Corridor Improvement - Marshlands Road Bay Trail Project: Project
Sponsor Resolution of Project Compliance - Allocation Request

Action: Authority Approval

Presenter: Lee Huo

4. BATA Oversight Committee Report (Glover)

4a.24-1575BATA Resolution No. 184. Toll Increase and Changes to High Occupancy
Vehicle Policies for BATA Bridges.

A request that the Authority adopt BATA Resolution No. 184, Toll Schedule for the State-Owned Toll Bridges in the Bay Area to the Authority for approval. This Resolution would increase toll rates over a five-year period starting January 1, 2026 to fund toll bridge operations, maintenance, and preservation and establish a uniform three-person carpool requirement for discounted tolls on all bridges. The Authority shall consider all public comments received through the end of the public comment period on December 18, 2024 before determining whether to proceed with the toll increase and high-occupancy vehicle (HOV) policy changes.

Presenter: Derek Hansel

Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Miley, and Commissioner Ronen arrived during agenda item 4a.

Written correspondence was received from: Contra Costa Taxpayers Association, Thomas Rubin (SHIFT), Joint Letter from Alameda County Taxpayers Association, Contra Costa Taxpayers Association, and TRANSDEF, TRANSDEF, and Alameda County Taxpayers Association.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Alicia Minyen, Tom Rubin (SHIFT), Bobby Lee, Aleta Dupree (Team Folds), Wendy Breckon, and Anne Olivia Eldred.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and seconded by Commissioner Miley, the Authority adopted BATA Resolution No. 184. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 13 Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 3 Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Canepa and Commissioner Rabbitt
- Abstain: 1 Commissioner Ashcraft

5. Public Comment / Other Business

Alicia Minyen and Aleta Dupree (Team Folds) were called to speak.

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next regular meeting of the Bay Area Toll Authority is scheduled to be held at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco on Wednesday, January 22, 2025.