

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

David Canepa, Chair Jesse Arreguin, Vice Chair

Members

Eddie Ahn, Ken Carlson, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Pat Eklund,
Dave Hudson, Matt Mahan, Stephanie Moulton-Peters,
Sue Noack, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, James P. Spering,
Aaron Tiedemann, Vacant, and Vacant
Non-Voting Member
Dorene M. Giacopini

Friday, June 9, 2023 9:45 AM Board Room - 1st Floor

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 11 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn,

Committee Member Ramos, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Tiedemann and Committee Member Carlson

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Arreguin and Committee Member Mahan

Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Giacopini Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Pedroza and Commission Vice Chair Josefowitz

The following individuals participated from noticed remote locations: Member Giacopini, Member Eklund, Member Ramos.

Member Dave Hudson is no longer a member of this body effective June 8, 2023. Contra Costa County Supervisor Ken Carlson and Aaron Tiedemann, Mayor of the City of Albany were appointed to the Committee effective April 27, 2023.

Page 1 Printed on 6/14/2023

2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Spering and second by Committee Member Ramos, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Tiedemann and Committee Member Carlson

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Arreguin and Committee Member Mahan

2a. <u>23-0660</u> Approval of Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of the April

14, 2023 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

Attachments: 2a 23-0660 2023-04-12 Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

Meeting Minutes Draft.pdf

2b. <u>23-0661</u> Legislative History

Detailed list of bills the ABAG and MTC are tracking in Sacramento,

including those ABAG or MTC supports or opposes.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 2b 23-0661 Handout June Legislative History.pdf

2c. <u>23-0716</u> MTC Resolution No. 4590: Revised Draft 2023 MTC Public Participation

Plan

Action: MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Alex Eisenhart

Attachments: 2ci 23-0716 Summary Sheet 2023 MTC PPP.pdf

2cii 23-0716 Attachment A MTC PPP Reso No 4590.pdf
2ciii 23-0716 Attachment B MTC PPP CBO Engagement.pdf

2civ 23-0716 Attachment C MTC PPP Revisions.pdf

3. State Legislation

3a. 23-0663 Fiscal Year (FY) 2023-24 State Budget Update

Update on FY 2023-24 state budget, with a focus on transportation,

housing, and climate adaptation provisions.

Action: Information

Presenter: Rebecca Long

Attachments: 3a 23-0663 Summary Sheet State Budget.pdf

Wendi Kallins spoke on this item. Adina Levin spoke on this item.

3b. 23-0796 Assembly Bill 761 (Friedman): Transit Transformation Task Force

Establishes a statewide task force to identify transit funding needs to support ridership growth, recommend policies aimed at increasing transit ridership and the customer experience, and recommend new rider-focused

state performance metrics.

Action: Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 3bi 23-0796 Summary Sheet AB 761 Friedman.pdf

3bii 23-0796 Attachment A AB 761 Friedman Known Positions.pdf

Adina Levin spoke on this item.

Upon the motion by Committee Member Moulton-Peters and second by Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, a support position on AB 761 (Friedman) was adopted to be forwarded to the Commission for approval. The motion carried unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn,
Committee Member Ramos, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci,
Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member
Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Tiedemann and Committee Member Carlson

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Arreguin and Committee Member Mahan

3c. 23-0814 Assembly Bill 1377 (Friedman): Homelessness Assistance on Transit

Expands reporting requirement for recipients of state Homeless Housing, Assistance and Prevention Program funds to include a summary of efforts to improve service delivery to unsheltered individuals on transit systems within the recipient's jurisdiction.

Action: Support / ABAG Executive Board Approval

Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 3ci 23-0814 Summary Sheet AB 1377 Friedman.pdf

3cii 23-0814 Attachment A AB 1377 Friedman Known Positions.p

df

Adina Levin, Seamless Bay Area, spoke on this item.

Upon the motion by Committee Member Ahn and second by Committee Member Moulton-Peters, a support position on AB 1377 (Friedman) was adopted to be forwarded to the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission, respectively, for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Tiedemann and Committee Member Carlson

Absent: 3 - Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Mahan

Commissioner Spering departed before the vote.

3d. 23-0798 Assembly Bill 1657 (Wicks): Statewide Housing Bond

Places a \$10 billion general obligation (GO) bond on the March 2024 statewide ballot for a variety of housing production and preservation

programs.

Action: Support / ABAG Executive Board Approval

Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Julie Snyder

Attachments: 3di 23-0798 Summary Sheet AB 1657 Wicks.pdf

3dii 23-0798 Attachment A Positions on AB 1657.pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Tiedemann and second by Committee Member Carlson, a support position on AB 1657 (Wicks) was adopted to be forwarded to the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission, respectively, for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Tiedemann and Committee Member Carlson

Absent: 3 - Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Mahan

4. Federal Legislation

4a. 23-0662 Washington, D.C. Legislative Update

Report on key legislative, funding and political developments over the past month from Washington, D.C. prepared by the Summit Strategies team.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 4a 23-0662 Handout Summit Strategies MTC Report May 2023.pd

f

5. Public Comment / Other Business

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee will be held on Friday, July 14, 2023 at 9:45 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA, and other remote locations. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.

Page 5