

# Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

## **Meeting Agenda**

# **Metropolitan Transportation Commission**

Alfredo Pedroza, Chair Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair

Wednesday, June 12, 2024

9:30 AM

**Board Room - 1st Floor** 

## **Special Meeting**

Meeting attendees may opt to attend in person for public comment and observation at 375 Beale Street, Board Room (1st Floor). In-person attendees must adhere to posted public health protocols while in the building. The meeting webcast will be available at https://mtc.ca.gov/whats-happening/meetings/live-webcasts. Members of the public are encouraged to participate remotely via Zoom at the following link or phone number.

Members of the public participating by Zoom wishing to speak should use the "raise hand" feature or dial \*9. When called upon, unmute yourself or dial \*6. In order to get the full Zoom experience, please make sure your application is up to date.

Attendee Link: https://bayareametro.zoom.us/j/87110125854 iPhone One-Tap: US: +14086380968,,87110125854# US (San Jose) +16694449171,,87110125854# US

Join by Telephone (for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location) US: 888 788 0099 (Toll Free) or 877 853 5247 (Toll Free)

Webinar ID: 871 1012 5854

International numbers available: https://bayareametro.zoom.us/u/kyDSKuvRr

Members of the public may participate by phone or Zoom or may submit comments by email at info@bayareametro.gov by 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting date. Please include the committee or board meeting name and agenda item number in the subject line. Due to the current circumstances, there may be limited opportunity to address comments during the meeting. All comments received will be submitted into the record.

Clerk: Kimberly Ward

#### Roster

Alfredo Pedroza (Chair), Nick Josefowitz (Vice Chair),
Margaret Abe-Koga, Eddie Ahn, David Canepa, Cindy Chavez, Carol Dutra-Vernaci,
Dina El-Tawansy\*, Victoria Fleming, Dorene M. Giacopini\*, Federal D. Glover,
Matt Mahan, Nate Miley, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, Gina Papan,
David Rabbitt, Hillary Ronen, Libby Schaaf\*, James P. Spering, Sheng Thao
\*Non-Voting Members

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

A quorum of the Commission shall be a majority of its voting members (10).

- 2. Pledge of Allegiance / Acknowledgement of the Flag
- 3. Compensation Announcement (Clerk)
- 4. Chair's Report
- 5. Commission Information and Discussion
- **5a.** 24-0845 Next Steps to Build Consensus for a 2026 Transportation Revenue

Measure

This item will provide high level information on planned next steps to build consensus for a future transportation measure. Senator Scott Wiener will join the meeting remotely to discuss the decision to not advance Senate Bill 1031 this year and instead introduce legislation in the next session to address the Bay Area's transit funding challenges. Commissioners will have an opportunity to discuss and provide input to inform the path ahead.

Action: Information and Discussion

<u>Presenter:</u> Chair Pedroza and Senator Wiener, and Commissioners

<u>Attachments:</u> 5a MEMO Regional Transport Revenue Measure.pdf

5a ATTACHMENT A Regional Transport Revenue Measure.pdf

5a PUBLIC COMMENT AC Transit Michael Hursh.pdf
5a PUBLIC COMMENT CityofOakland Mayor Thao.pdf

### 6. Public Comment / Other Business

Commissioners and members of the public participating by Zoom wishing to speak should use the "raise hand" feature or dial \*9. When called upon, unmute yourself or dial \*6.

## 7. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next meeting of the Commission is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, June 26, 2024 at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.

**Public Comment:** The public is encouraged to comment on agenda items at Committee meetings by completing a request-to-speak card (available from staff) and passing it to the Committee secretary. Public comment may be limited by any of the procedures set forth in Section 3.09 of MTC's Procedures Manual (Resolution No. 1058, Revised) if, in the chair's judgment, it is necessary to maintain the orderly flow of business.

**Meeting Conduct:** If this meeting is willfully interrupted or disrupted by one or more persons rendering orderly conduct of the meeting unfeasible, the Chair may order the removal of individuals who are willfully disrupting the meeting. Such individuals may be arrested. If order cannot be restored by such removal, the members of the Committee may direct that the meeting room be cleared (except for representatives of the press or other news media not participating in the disturbance), and the session may continue.

**Record of Meeting:** Committee meetings are recorded. Copies of recordings are available at a nominal charge, or recordings may be listened to at MTC offices by appointment. Audiocasts are maintained on MTC's Web site (mtc.ca.gov) for public review for at least one year.

**Accessibility and Title VI:** MTC provides services/accommodations upon request to persons with disabilities and individuals who are limited-English proficient who wish to address Commission matters. For accommodations or translations assistance, please call 415.778.6757 or 415.778.6769 for TDD/TTY. We require three working days' notice to accommodate your request.

**可及性和法令第六章**: MTC 根據要求向希望來委員會討論有關事宜的殘疾人士及英語有限者提供服務/方便。需要便利設施或翻譯協助者,請致電 415.778.6757 或 415.778.6769 TDD / TTY。我們要求您在三個工作日前告知,以滿足您的要求。

**Acceso y el Titulo VI:** La MTC puede proveer asistencia/facilitar la comunicación a las personas discapacitadas y los individuos con conocimiento limitado del inglés quienes quieran dirigirse a la Comisión. Para solicitar asistencia, por favor llame al número 415.778.6757 o al 415.778.6769 para TDD/TTY. Requerimos que solicite asistencia con tres días hábiles de anticipación para poderle proveer asistencia.

Attachments are sent to Committee members, key staff and others as appropriate. Copies will be available at the meeting.

MTC's Chair and Vice-Chair are ex-officio voting members of all standing Committees.